Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (13 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Acarbose

As of 03 Nov 2026 16:21 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2022/099 Tier 2 · issued 01 Dec 2022 (1433 days ago)
Expected backno date stated by the source in the latest recorded notice
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
Scotlandno NHS Scotland alert matched to this name (separate record)

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2022/099 (01 Dec 2022): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Acarbose 50mg tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as stated— not stated for this linenotice of 01 Dec 2022
Acarbose 100mg tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as stated— not stated for this linenotice of 01 Dec 2022
Other medicines licensed for the treatment of type 2 diabetesclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 01 Dec 2022

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

The latest recorded notice names no alternative as remaining available.

Identifiers — Acarbose

Also known as
Acarbose 100mg tablets · Acarbose 50mg tablets · Glucobay 100mg tablets · Glucobay 50mg tablets
BNF chemical
Acarbose 0601023A0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Antidiabetic drugs · Drugs used in diabetes · Endocrine System
SNOMED codes
18309611000001107, 18309811000001106, 18624411000001105, 18624811000001107, 19489311000001108 and 27 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Actavis UK Ltd · Alliance Healthcare (Distribution) Ltd · Arrow Generics Ltd · Bayer Plc · DE Pharmaceuticals · +7 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

One supply notification on record, 01 Dec 2022. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
01 Dec 2022Medicine Supply Notification: Acarbose 50mg and 100mg tabletsSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2022/099

Also recorded under

No other name appears in this medicine's notice titles. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

No NHS Scotland Medicine Supply Alert Notice on record matches this name. Scotland is a separate record (all Scotland alerts); absence here is not a statement about supply in Scotland.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
28 Nov 2023
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-acarbose-50mg-and-100mg-tablets · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.