Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (16 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Bezafibrate

As of 05 Nov 2026 23:23 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2023/012 Tier 2 · issued 06 Feb 2023 (1368 days ago)
Expected back20th March 2023 as stated in the latest recorded notice stated date passed — no update recorded (1326 days)window end 20 Mar 2023, derived from “20th March 2023”
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
Scotlandno NHS Scotland alert matched to this name (separate record)

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2023/012 (06 Feb 2023): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Bezafibrate (Bezalip®) 200mg tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as stated20th March 2023precision: a stated day · window end 20 Mar 2023, derived from “20th March 2023”notice of 06 Feb 2023
Alternative bezafibrate productsclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 06 Feb 2023
Alternative fibratesclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 06 Feb 2023

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

The latest recorded notice names no alternative as remaining available.

Identifiers — Bezafibrate

Also known as
Bezafibrate 200mg tablets · Bezafibrate 200mg/5ml oral suspension · Bezafibrate 400mg modified-release tablets · Bezagen XL 400mg tablets · Bezalip 200mg tablets · Bezalip Mono 400mg modified-release tablets · +4 more
BNF chemical
Bezafibrate 0212000D0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Lipid-regulating drugs · Cardiovascular System
SNOMED codes
12232211000001107, 12286611000001102, 130711000001102, 137611000001105, 15055111000001103 and 19 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Actavis UK Ltd · Archimedes Pharma UK Ltd · Ashbourne Pharmaceuticals Ltd · DE Pharmaceuticals · Mawdsley-Brooks & Company Ltd · +8 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

One supply notification on record, 06 Feb 2023. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
06 Feb 2023Medicine Supply Notification: Bezafibrate (Bezalip® ) 200mg tabletsSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2023/012

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: bezalip. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

No NHS Scotland Medicine Supply Alert Notice on record matches this name. Scotland is a separate record (all Scotland alerts); absence here is not a statement about supply in Scotland.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
20 Apr 2024
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-bezafibrate-bezalip-200mg-tablets · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.