As of 03 Nov 2026 12:43 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.
Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice
Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2023/099 (23 Oct 2023): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.
| Presentation | Status, as stated | Expected back, as stated | Stated in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bisacodyl (Dulcolax®) 5mg suppositoriesaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated | w/c 18th December 2023precision: a month · window end 24 Dec 2023, derived from “w/c 18th December 2023” | notice of 23 Oct 2023 |
| Glycerol 2g (children’s size) suppositoriesnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing · its own page → | Stated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand | — not stated for this line | notice of 23 Oct 2023 |
| Relaxit enemasaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated | — not stated for this line | notice of 23 Oct 2023 |
| Micralax micro enemasnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 23 Oct 2023 |
Protocol in force
No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.
Named in the source as remaining available
- Glycerol 2g (children’s size) suppositories — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
- Micralax micro enemas — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.
Identifiers — Bisacodyl
BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.
BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.
History
One supply notification on record, 23 Oct 2023. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.
| Issued | Notice | Kind | Tier | Reference |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 23 Oct 2023 | Medicine Supply Notification: Bisacodyl (Dulcolax®) 5mg suppositories | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2023/099 |
Also recorded under
Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: dulcolax. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.
Scotland — separate record
NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.
- MSAN(2020)117 Dulcolax® (bisacodyl) 5mg and 10mg suppositories · issued 29 Dec 2020 · valid until various, see table below, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗
- MSAN(2020)111 Dulcolax® (bisacodyl) 5mg and 10mg suppositories · issued 17 Nov 2020 · valid until various, see table below, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗
- MSAN(2020)102 Dulcolax® (bisacodyl) 5mg suppositories · issued 21 Oct 2020 · valid until early December 2020, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗