As of 05 Nov 2026 09:29 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.
Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice
Each line is re-expressed from NatPSA/2025/003/DHSC (03 Jul 2025): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.
| Presentation | Status, as stated | Expected back, as stated | Stated in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bumetanide 1mg tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated | mid-August 2025precision: mid-month · window end 20 Aug 2025, derived from “mid-August 2025” | notice of 03 Jul 2025 |
| Bumetanide 1mg/5ml oral solution and bumetanide 5mg tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand | — not stated for this line | notice of 03 Jul 2025 |
| Furosemide 20mg and 40mg tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 03 Jul 2025 |
Protocol in force
No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.
Named in the source as remaining available
- Bumetanide 1mg/5ml oral solution and bumetanide 5mg tablets — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
- Furosemide 20mg and 40mg tablets — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.
Identifiers — Bumetanide
BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.
BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.
History
Notified short 2 times on record since 2023 — a recurring shortage spanning 1.7 years. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.
| Issued | Notice | Kind | Tier | Reference |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 03 Jul 2025 | National Patient Safety Alert: Shortage Of Bumetanide 1mg Tablets - Updated | Safety alert | — | NatPSA/2025/003/DHSC |
| 12 Oct 2023 | Medicine Supply Notification: Bumetanide 1mg and 5mg tablets | Supply notification | Tier 3 | MSN/2023/094 |
Also recorded under
No other name appears in this medicine's notice titles. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.
Scotland — separate record
NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.
- MSAN(2023)33 Bumetanide 1mg and 5mg tablets · issued 16 Oct 2023 · valid until March 2024, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗