Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (13 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Bupropion

As of 03 Nov 2026 10:12 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2022/100 Tier 3 · issued 01 Dec 2022 (1433 days ago)
Expected backno date stated by the source in the latest recorded notice
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2020)45 issued 01 Jun 2020 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2022/100 (01 Dec 2022): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Bupropion (Zyban®) 150mg modified-release tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as stated— not stated for this linenotice of 01 Dec 2022
Various nicotine replacement therapiesnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 01 Dec 2022

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Various nicotine replacement therapies — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Bupropion

Also known as
Bupropion 150mg modified-release tablets
BNF chemical
Bupropion hydrochloride 0410020A0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Nicotine dependence · Drugs used in substance dependence · Central Nervous System
SNOMED codes
35914111000001102, 38961311000001109
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
Imported (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

One supply notification on record, 01 Dec 2022. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
01 Dec 2022Medicine Supply Notification: Bupropion (Zyban®) 150mg modified-release tabletsSupply notificationTier 3MSN/2022/100

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: zyban. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
20 Jul 2023
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-bupropion-zyban-150mg-modified-release-tablets · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.