Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (13 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Carbamazepine

As of 03 Nov 2026 07:09 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2024/077 Tier 2 · issued 18 Jul 2024 (838 days ago)
Expected backmid-August 2024 as stated in the latest recorded noticethe latest of 2 dates stated for this notice's lines (earliest “mid-August 2024”); 2 of 2 stated windows have passed stated date passed — no update recorded (805 days)window end 20 Aug 2024, derived from “mid-August 2024”
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2024)25 issued 17 May 2024 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2024/077 (18 Jul 2024): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Carbamazepine 100mg/5ml oral suspension sugar free from Accordaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedmid-August 2024precision: mid-month · window end 20 Aug 2024, derived from “mid-August 2024”notice of 18 Jul 2024
Tegretol® (carbamazepine) 100mg/5ml liquidnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing · its own page →Stated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand— not stated for this linenotice of 18 Jul 2024
Carbamazepine (Tegretol®) 100mg, 200mg and 400mg immediate release tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 18 Jul 2024
Only carbamazepine 100mg and 200mg immediate release tablets from Medreichnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 18 Jul 2024
Carbamazepine 100mg and 200mg tablets from Crescentaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as stated⚠ the source line states more than one status — first stated shownmid-August 2024precision: mid-month · window end 20 Aug 2024, derived from “mid-August 2024”notice of 18 Jul 2024

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Tegretol® (carbamazepine) 100mg/5ml liquid — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Carbamazepine (Tegretol®) 100mg, 200mg and 400mg immediate release tablets — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Only carbamazepine 100mg and 200mg immediate release tablets from Medreich — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Carbamazepine

Also known as
Arbil MR 200mg tablets · Arbil MR 400mg tablets · Carbagen 100mg tablets · Carbagen 200mg tablets · Carbagen 400mg tablets · Carbagen SR 200mg tablets · +38 more
BNF chemical
Carbamazepine 0408010C0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Control of epilepsy · Antiepileptic drugs · Central Nervous System
SNOMED codes
12311000001104, 12323011000001102, 12323811000001108, 12324411000001109, 12324911000001101 and 108 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Accord-UK Ltd · Alliance Healthcare (Distribution) Ltd · Almus Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Crescent Pharma Ltd · DE Pharmaceuticals · +13 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)
Also recorded under
Tegretol (brand) — same BNF chemical; separate pages, separate counts

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

Notified short 2 times on record since 2024. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
18 Jul 2024Medicine Supply Notification: Carbamazepine 100mg/5ml oral suspension sugar free (Accord)Supply notificationTier 2MSN/2024/077
10 Apr 2024Medicine Supply Notification: Carbamazepine 100mg and 200mg tabletsSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2024/040

Also recorded under

No other name appears in this medicine's notice titles. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
07 Aug 2024
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-carbamazepine-100mg-5ml-oral-suspension-sugar-free-accord · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.