Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (9 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Chlordiazepoxide

As of 30 Oct 2026 06:59 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2026/021 Tier 2 · issued 30 Mar 2026 (214 days ago)
Expected backmid-July 2026 as stated in the latest recorded notice stated date passed — no update recorded (102 days)window end 20 Jul 2026, derived from “mid-July 2026”
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2026)12 issued 02 Apr 2026 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2026/021 (30 Mar 2026): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Chlordiazepoxide 5mg and 10mg capsules (Viatris)affected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedmid-July 2026precision: mid-month · window end 20 Jul 2026, derived from “mid-July 2026”notice of 30 Mar 2026
Chlordiazepoxide 10mg capsules (Kent Pharma)affected product · inferred from phrasingDiscontinued, as stated— not stated for this linenotice of 30 Mar 2026
Chlordiazepoxide 5mg capsules (Kent Pharma)affected product · inferred from phrasingDiscontinued, as stated— not stated for this linenotice of 30 Mar 2026
Alternative oral benzodiazepinesclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 30 Mar 2026

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

The latest recorded notice names no alternative as remaining available.

Identifiers — Chlordiazepoxide

Also known as
Chlordiazepoxide 10mg capsules · Chlordiazepoxide 10mg tablets · Chlordiazepoxide 10mg/5ml oral liquid · Chlordiazepoxide 2.5mg/5ml oral liquid · Chlordiazepoxide 4mg/5ml oral liquid · Chlordiazepoxide 5mg capsules · +2 more
BNF chemical
Chlordiazepoxide hydrochloride 0401020E0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Anxiolytics · Hypnotics and anxiolytics · Central Nervous System
SNOMED codes
11012911000001100, 11013611000001101, 11014511000001102, 11014911000001109, 12402811000001102 and 52 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Actavis UK Ltd · Alliance Healthcare (Distribution) Ltd · Crescent Pharma Ltd · DE Pharmaceuticals · Ennogen Healthcare Ltd · +7 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (chemical name), confidence 0.85 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

One supply notification on record, 30 Mar 2026. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
30 Mar 2026Medicine Supply Notification: Chlordiazepoxide 5mg and 10mg capsulesSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2026/021

Also recorded under

No other name appears in this medicine's notice titles. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
12 Jul 2026
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-chlordiazepoxide-5mg-and-10mg-capsules · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.