As of 02 Nov 2026 15:53 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.
Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice
Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2022/009 (15 Feb 2022): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.
| Presentation | Status, as stated | Expected back, as stated | Stated in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ciprofloxacin 0.3% / dexamethasone 0.1% ear dropsaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated | mid-March 2022precision: mid-month · window end 20 Mar 2022, derived from “mid-March 2022” | notice of 15 Feb 2022 |
| containing ciprofloxacin with a steroid componentnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available; can support only a partial uplift | — not stated for this line | notice of 15 Feb 2022 |
| Cetraxal® (ciprofloxacin 0.2%) ear drops alsonamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 15 Feb 2022 |
Protocol in force
No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.
Named in the source as remaining available
- containing ciprofloxacin with a steroid component — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
- Cetraxal® (ciprofloxacin 0.2%) ear drops also — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.
Identifiers — Ciprofloxacin
BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026. chemical 'Ciprofloxacin' appears under 2 BNF codes; 0501120L0 (most presentations) taken.
BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.
History
One supply notification on record, 15 Feb 2022. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.
| Issued | Notice | Kind | Tier | Reference |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 15 Feb 2022 | Medicine Supply Notification: Ciprofloxacin 0.3% / dexamethasone 0.1% ear drops | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2022/009 |
Also recorded under
No other name appears in this medicine's notice titles. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.
Scotland — separate record
No NHS Scotland Medicine Supply Alert Notice on record matches this name. Scotland is a separate record (all Scotland alerts); absence here is not a statement about supply in Scotland.