Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (14 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Desmopressin

As of 04 Nov 2026 13:13 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2025/010 · issued 03 Mar 2025 (611 days ago)
Expected backno date stated by the source in the latest recorded notice
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2025)10 issued 26 Mar 2025 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2025/010 (03 Mar 2025): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Desmopressin 10microgram/dose nasal sprayaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as stated— not stated for this linenotice of 03 Mar 2025
Unlicensed supplies of desmopressin 10microgram/dose nasal sprayunlicensed import named by the source · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 03 Mar 2025
Desmopressin 100 and 200microgram tablets, desmopressin sublingual tablets and DDAVP Melt oral lyophilisates (60, 120 and 240microgram)named by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 03 Mar 2025
Desmopressin 4microgram/ml injectionnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 03 Mar 2025

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Unlicensed supplies of desmopressin 10microgram/dose nasal spray — unlicensed import named by the source (inferred from phrasing)
  • Desmopressin 100 and 200microgram tablets, desmopressin sublingual tablets and DDAVP Melt oral lyophilisates (60, 120 and 240microgram) — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Desmopressin 4microgram/ml injection — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Desmopressin

Also known as
Desmopressin 100microgram tablets · Desmopressin 100micrograms/5ml oral liquid · Desmopressin 100micrograms/ml intranasal solution · Desmopressin 10micrograms/5ml oral liquid · Desmopressin 10micrograms/dose nasal spray · Desmopressin 10micrograms/ml intranasal solution · +23 more
BNF chemical
Desmopressin acetate 0605020E0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Posterior pituitary hormones and antagonists · Hypothalamic and pituitary hormones and anti, oestrogens · Endocrine System
SNOMED codes
10063811000001109, 10063911000001104, 10423911000001104, 10986411000001105, 11170011000001100 and 115 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Accord-UK Ltd · Actavis UK Ltd · Aristo Pharma Ltd · Aspire Pharma Ltd · Consilient Health Ltd · +13 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)
Also recorded under
Ddavp (brand) — same BNF chemical; separate pages, separate counts

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

Notified short 3 times on record since 2021 — a recurring shortage spanning 3.3 years. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: ddavp, octim. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
12 Jul 2026
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-desmopressin-10microgram-dose-nasal-spray · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.