As of 06 Nov 2026 15:14 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.
Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice
Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2024/036 (28 Mar 2024): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.
| Presentation | Status, as stated | Expected back, as stated | Stated in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Midazolam oromucosal solution pre-filled syringes 2.5mg/0.5ml, 5mg/1ml, 7.5mg/1.5ml and 10mg/2mlnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 28 Mar 2024 |
| Diazepam 5mg/2.5ml rectal solution tubesnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 28 Mar 2024 |
Protocol in force
No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.
Named in the source as remaining available
- Midazolam oromucosal solution pre-filled syringes 2.5mg/0.5ml, 5mg/1ml, 7.5mg/1.5ml and 10mg/2ml — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
- Diazepam 5mg/2.5ml rectal solution tubes — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.
Identifiers — Diazepam
BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.
BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.
History
Notified short 3 times on record since 2023. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.
| Issued | Notice | Kind | Tier | Reference |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 28 Mar 2024 | Medicine Supply Notification: Diazepam 10mg/2.5ml rectal solution tubes | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2024/036 |
| 05 Dec 2023 | Medicine Supply Notification: Diazepam 2mg/5ml oral solution sugar free | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2023/112 |
| 29 Jun 2023 | Medicine Supply Notification: Diazepam 10mg/2.5ml rectal solution tubes | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2023/063 |
Also recorded under
No other name appears in this medicine's notice titles. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.
Scotland — separate record
NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.
- MSAN(2025)21 Diazepam 10mg/2ml solution for injection ampoules · issued 07 May 2025 · valid until October 2025, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗
- MSAN(2020)82 Diazepam (Diazemuls®) 10mg/2ml emulsion for injection · issued 26 Aug 2020 · valid until February 2021, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗
- MSAN(2020)22 Diazepam (Diazemuls®) 10mg/2ml emulsion for injection · issued 14 Apr 2020 · valid until expected September 2020, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗