Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (16 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Estradiol

As of 06 Nov 2026 02:13 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2025/048 Tier 2 · issued 06 Aug 2025 (457 days ago)
Expected backno date stated by the source in the latest recorded notice
ProtocolSSP082 in force to 08 Jan 2027 · SSP081 in force to 08 Jan 2027 · SSP080 in force to 08 Jan 2027 · SSP079 in force to 08 Jan 2027
ScotlandMSAN(2025)40 issued 19 Aug 2025 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2025/048 (06 Aug 2025): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Progynova® TS 50micrograms/24hours and 100micrograms/24hours transdermal patches (once weekly estradiol patches)affected product · inferred from phrasingDiscontinued, as stated— not stated for this linenotice of 06 Aug 2025
FemSeven® 50micrograms/24 hours and 100micrograms/24 hours transdermal patches (once-weekly estradiol patches)named by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 06 Aug 2025
Evorel® 50micrograms and 100micrograms and Estraderm® MX 50micrograms and 100micrograms transdermal patches (twice-weekly estradiol patches)named by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 06 Aug 2025

Protocol in force

SSP082Estradot 25mcg patchesin force
Valid
03 Apr 2025 → 08 Jan 2027 (NHSBSA register dates)
Where it applies
UK-wide
Legal category
POM
Signed protocol
Protocol and endorsement documents (NHSBSA) ↗https://www.nhsbsa.nhs.uk/pharmacies-gp-practices-and-appliance-contractors/serious-shortage-protocols-ssps#SSP082%20Estradot%2025mcg%20patches%20SIGNED.pdf

matched by a bracketed name recorded for this medicine — name-based until identifier coding refines it. Full protocol history →

SSP081Estradot 100mcg patchesin force
Valid
19 Dec 2024 → 08 Jan 2027 (NHSBSA register dates)
Where it applies
UK-wide
Legal category
POM
Signed protocol
Protocol and endorsement documents (NHSBSA) ↗https://www.nhsbsa.nhs.uk/pharmacies-gp-practices-and-appliance-contractors/serious-shortage-protocols-ssps#SSP081%20Estradot%20100mcg%20patches%20SIGNED.pdf

matched by a bracketed name recorded for this medicine — name-based until identifier coding refines it. Full protocol history →

SSP080Estradot 75mcg patchesin force
Valid
19 Dec 2024 → 08 Jan 2027 (NHSBSA register dates)
Where it applies
UK-wide
Legal category
POM
Signed protocol
Protocol and endorsement documents (NHSBSA) ↗https://www.nhsbsa.nhs.uk/pharmacies-gp-practices-and-appliance-contractors/serious-shortage-protocols-ssps#SSP080%20Estradot%2075mcg%20patches%20SIGNED.pdf

matched by a bracketed name recorded for this medicine — name-based until identifier coding refines it. Full protocol history →

SSP079Estradot 50mcg patchesin force
Valid
19 Dec 2024 → 08 Jan 2027 (NHSBSA register dates)
Where it applies
UK-wide
Legal category
POM
Signed protocol
Protocol and endorsement documents (NHSBSA) ↗https://www.nhsbsa.nhs.uk/pharmacies-gp-practices-and-appliance-contractors/serious-shortage-protocols-ssps#SSP079%20Estradot%2050mcg%20patches%20SIGNED.pdf

matched by a bracketed name recorded for this medicine — name-based until identifier coding refines it. Full protocol history →

Named in the source as remaining available

  • FemSeven® 50micrograms/24 hours and 100micrograms/24 hours transdermal patches (once-weekly estradiol patches) — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Evorel® 50micrograms and 100micrograms and Estraderm® MX 50micrograms and 100micrograms transdermal patches (twice-weekly estradiol patches) — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Estradiol

Also known as
Estradiol 10microgram pessaries · Estradiol 25microgram pessaries · Estradiol 2mg vaginal ring · Estradiol 7.5micrograms/24hours vaginal delivery system · Estradiol acetate 1.25mg vaginal ring · Estring 2mg vaginal ring · +6 more
BNF chemical
Estradiol 0702010G0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Preparations for vaginal and vulval changes · Treatment of vaginal and vulval conditions · Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Urinary-Tract Disorders
SNOMED codes
18093811000001105, 18109911000001108, 24576311000001100, 24580611000001102, 2836011000001106 and 14 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Accord-UK Ltd · Advanz Pharma · Alliance Healthcare (Distribution) Ltd · DE Pharmaceuticals · Galen Ltd · +4 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)
Also recorded under
Elleste Solo Mx (brand), Estradot (brand) — same BNF chemical; separate pages, separate counts

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

Notified short 13 times on record since 2021 — a recurring shortage spanning 3.7 years. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
06 Aug 2025Medicine Supply Notification: Estradiol (Progynova® TS) 50micrograms/24hours and 100micrograms/24hours transdermal patchesSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2025/048
19 Dec 2024Medicine Supply Notification: Estradiol (Estradot®) transdermal patches - UpdatedSupply notificationTier 2—
21 Dec 2023Medicine Supply Notification: Estradiol (Estring® ) 7.5micrograms/24hours vaginal delivery systemSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2023/119
14 Sep 2023Medicine Supply Notification: Estradiol (FemSeven® ) 75micrograms/24hours and 100micrograms/24hours transdermal patchesSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2023/085
23 Aug 2023Medicine Supply Notification: Estradiol (Estradot® ) 25micrograms/24 hours, 37.5micrograms/24 hours and 100micrograms/24 hours transdermal patchesSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2023/082
13 Apr 2023Medicine Supply Notification: Estradiol (Estradot® ) 75micrograms/24hours transdermal patchesSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2023/047
28 Mar 2023Medicine Supply Notification: Estradiol (Progynova® TS) 100micrograms/24hours transdermal patchesSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2023/035
03 Feb 2023Medicine Supply Notification: Estradiol (Estradot ® ) 25micrograms/24hours, 50micrograms/24hours and 100micrograms/24hours patchesSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2023/009
08 Sep 2022Medicine Supply Notification: Estradiol (Estraderm MX® ) 25micrograms/24hours and 100micrograms/24hours transdermal patchesSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2022/076
23 May 2022Medicine Supply Notification: Estradiol (Lenzetto® ) 1.53mg/dose transdermal spraySupply notificationTier 2MSN/2022/049
23 May 2022Medicine Supply Notification: Estradiol (Sandrena® ) 500microgram and 1mg gel sachetsSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2022/048
03 May 2022Medicine Supply Notification: Estradiol (Oestrogel® ) pump pack 0.06% gelSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2022/037
03 May 2022Medicine Supply Notification: Estradiol (Oestrogel® ) pump pack 0.06% gel - UpdatedNotification updateTier 2MSN/2022/037
09 Dec 2021Medicine Supply Notification: Estradiol (Estring®)7.5microgram/24hours vaginal delivery systemSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2021/067

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: estraderm mx, estradot, estring, femseven, lenzetto, oestrogel, progynova ts, sandrena. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
12 Jul 2026
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-estradiol-progynova-ts-50micrograms-24hours-and-100micrograms-24hours-transdermal-patches · Signed protocol (NHSBSA) ↗ · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.