Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (16 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Exenatide

As of 06 Nov 2026 05:17 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2025/054 Tier 2 · issued 15 Oct 2025 (387 days ago)
Expected backno date stated by the source in the latest recorded notice
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2025)48 issued 27 Oct 2025 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2025/054 (15 Oct 2025): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Exenatide (Bydureon® BCise®) 2mg/0.85ml prolonged-release suspension for injection pre-filled pensaffected product · inferred from phrasingDiscontinued, as stated— not stated for this linenotice of 15 Oct 2025
Alternative GLP-1 RAs and dual GIP/GLP-1 RAclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 15 Oct 2025

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

The latest recorded notice names no alternative as remaining available.

Identifiers — Exenatide

Also known as
Bydureon 2mg pdr and solvent for prolonged-rel inj pf pens · Bydureon 2mg pdr and solvent for prolonged-rel inj vials · Bydureon BCise 2mg/0.85ml prolonged-rel inj pf pens · Byetta 10micrograms/0.04ml inj 2.4ml pre-filled pens · Byetta 5micrograms/0.02ml inj 1.2ml pre-filled pens · Exenatide 10micrograms/0.04ml inj 2.4ml pf dispos dev · +4 more
BNF chemical
Exenatide 0601023Y0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Antidiabetic drugs · Drugs used in diabetes · Endocrine System
SNOMED codes
11494111000001102, 11494211000001108, 11494611000001105, 11494811000001109, 19274811000001108 and 5 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
AstraZeneca UK Ltd (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Sep 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

One supply notification on record, 15 Oct 2025. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: bydureon bcise. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
12 Jul 2026
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-exenatide-bydureon-bcise-2mg-0-85ml-prolonged-release-suspension-for-injection-pre-filled-pen · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.