Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (16 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Fluoxetine

As of 06 Nov 2026 15:57 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2023/007 Tier 2 · issued 03 Feb 2023 (1372 days ago)
Expected backMarch 2023 as stated in the latest recorded notice stated date passed — no update recorded (1316 days)window end 31 Mar 2023, derived from “March 2023”
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol in force; 7 expired on this record (below)
ScotlandMSAN(2021)2 issued 02 Mar 2021 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2023/007 (03 Feb 2023): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Fluoxetine 20mg/5ml oral solutionaffected product · inferred from phrasingLimited supply, as statedMarch 2023precision: a month · window end 31 Mar 2023, derived from “March 2023”notice of 03 Feb 2023
Fluoxetine (Olena®) 20mg dispersible tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as stated— not stated for this linenotice of 03 Feb 2023
Fluoxetine capsules, including the 10mg and 20mg strengthsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 03 Feb 2023

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register — 7 earlier protocols on this record have expired: SSP005 (to 31 Mar 2023), SSP007 (to 28 Jul 2021), SSP009 (to 17 May 2021), SSP006 (to 02 Oct 2020), SSP002 (to 18 Dec 2019), SSP003 (to 20 Nov 2019), SSP001 (to 25 Oct 2019). Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Fluoxetine capsules, including the 10mg and 20mg strengths — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Fluoxetine

Also known as
Fluoxetine 10mg capsules · Fluoxetine 10mg tablets · Fluoxetine 10mg/5ml oral suspension · Fluoxetine 2.5mg/5ml oral liquid · Fluoxetine 20mg capsules · Fluoxetine 20mg dispersible tablets sugar free · +7 more
BNF chemical
Fluoxetine hydrochloride 0403030E0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Selective serotonin re-uptake inhibitors · Antidepressant drugs · Central Nervous System
SNOMED codes
10307911000001105, 10408211000001105, 10444811000001109, 11018011000001101, 11590211000001106 and 149 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Accord-UK Ltd · Actavis UK Ltd · Advanz Pharma · Alliance Healthcare (Distribution) Ltd · Almus Pharmaceuticals Ltd · +42 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

Notified short 3 times on record since 2021 — a recurring shortage spanning 1.7 years. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: olena. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
23 Feb 2024
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-fluoxetine-20mg-5ml-oral-solution-and-fluoxetine-olena-20mg-dispersible-tablets · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.