Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (16 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Insulatard

As of 06 Nov 2026 09:08 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2024/112 Tier 2 · issued 12 Dec 2024 (694 days ago)
Expected backno date stated by the source in the latest recorded notice
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2025)37 issued 28 Jul 2025 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2024/112 (12 Dec 2024): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Insulatard® (isophane insulin, human) Penfill® 100units/ml suspension for injection 3ml cartridgesaffected product · inferred from phrasingDiscontinued, as stated— not stated for this linenotice of 12 Dec 2024
Humulin® I KwikPen® (isophane insulin, human) 100units/ml suspension for injection 3ml pre-filled pensnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing · its own page →Stated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 12 Dec 2024
Humulin® I (isophane insulin, human) 100units/ml suspension for injection 3ml cartridgesnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing · its own page →Stated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand— not stated for this linenotice of 12 Dec 2024

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Insulatard

Also known as
Insulatard 100units/ml suspension for injection 10ml vials · Insulatard FlexPen 100units/ml suspension for injection · Insulatard InnoLet 100units/ml inj 3ml pre-filled pens · Insulatard Penfill 100units/ml inj 3ml cartridges
BNF chemical
Isophane insulin 0601012S0 — matched on a brand name
Class
Insulin · Drugs used in diabetes · Endocrine System
SNOMED codes
3256111000001105, 3261411000001102, 3262011000001103, 3263711000001109
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
Novo Nordisk Ltd (from the dataset, not from the notices)
Also recorded under
Humulin I (brand), Hypurin Porcine Isophane (brand), Insulin Isophane Human (generic) — same BNF chemical; separate pages, separate counts

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

Notified short 2 times on record since 2024. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: insulin isophane human, isophane insulin. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
12 Jul 2026
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-insulatard-isophane-insulin-human-penfill-100units-ml-suspension-for-injection-3ml-cartridges · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.