Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (13 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Insulin Isophane Biphasic Human

As of 03 Nov 2026 16:12 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2023/057 Tier 2 · issued 06 Jun 2023 (1246 days ago)
Expected backno date stated by the source in the latest recorded notice
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2023)4 issued 25 Jan 2023 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2023/057 (06 Jun 2023): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Insuman® Comb 25 100units/ml suspension for injection 3ml cartridges and prefilled pensaffected product · inferred from phrasingDiscontinued, as stated— not stated for this linenotice of 06 Jun 2023
Humulin® M3named by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 06 Jun 2023

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Humulin® M3 — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Insulin Isophane Biphasic Human

Also known as
Insulin isophane biphasic human 10/90 100u/ml inj 1.5ml cart · Insulin isophane biphasic human 10/90 100u/ml inj 3ml cart · Insulin isophane biphasic human 15/85 100u/ml inj 3ml cart · Insulin isophane biphasic human 20/80 100u/ml inj 1.5ml cart · Insulin isophane biphasic human 20/80 100u/ml inj 3ml cart · Insulin isophane biphasic human 25/75 100u/ml inj 3ml cart · +6 more
BNF chemical
Biphasic isophane insulin 0601012D0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Insulin · Drugs used in diabetes · Endocrine System
SNOMED codes
3469311000001109, 3469411000001102, 3469611000001104, 3469911000001105, 3470011000001109 and 7 more
Also recorded under
Hypurin Porcine (brand) — same BNF chemical; separate pages, separate counts

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Sep 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

Notified short 2 times on record since 2022. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

Also recorded under

No other name appears in this medicine's notice titles. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
13 Jun 2023
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-insulin-isophane-biphasic-human-25-75-insuman-comb-25-100units-ml-suspension-for-injection-3ml-cartridge-and-pre-filled-solostar-pens · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.