Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (16 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Lansoprazole

As of 05 Nov 2026 23:09 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2026/044 Tier 2 · issued 07 Sep 2026 (59 days ago)
Expected backearly January 2027 as stated in the latest recorded notice stated window still aheadwindow end 10 Jan 2027, derived from “early January 2027”
ProtocolSSP089 in force to 15 Jan 2027 · SSP088 in force to 15 Jan 2027
ScotlandMSAN(2026)34 issued 16 Sep 2026 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2026/044 (07 Sep 2026): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Lansoprazole 15mg and 30mg orodispersible tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasingLimited supply, as statedearly January 2027precision: early in the month · window end 10 Jan 2027, derived from “early January 2027”notice of 07 Sep 2026
Lansoprazole 15mg and 30mg gastro-resistant capsulesnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 07 Sep 2026
Alternative proton pump inhibitorsclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 07 Sep 2026

Protocol in force

SSP089Lansoprazole 30mg orodispersible tabletsin force
Valid
09 Sep 2026 → 15 Jan 2027 (NHSBSA register dates)
Where it applies
UK-wide
Legal category
POM
Medicine to be supplied
Lansoprazole 30mg orodispersible tabletsverbatim excerpt from the signed protocol PDF — for reference, not advice; quantity, inclusion and exclusion criteria are in the full document
Signed protocol
Protocol and endorsement documents (NHSBSA) ↗https://www.nhsbsa.nhs.uk/pharmacies-gp-practices-and-appliance-contractors/serious-shortage-protocols-ssps#SSP089%20lansoprazole%2030mg%20orodispersible%20tablets.pdf

matched by medicine name — name-based until identifier coding refines it. Full protocol history →

SSP088Lansoprazole 15mg orodispersible tabletsin force
Valid
09 Sep 2026 → 15 Jan 2027 (NHSBSA register dates)
Where it applies
UK-wide
Legal category
POM
Medicine to be supplied
Lansoprazole 15mg orodispersible tabletsverbatim excerpt from the signed protocol PDF — for reference, not advice; quantity, inclusion and exclusion criteria are in the full document
Signed protocol
Protocol and endorsement documents (NHSBSA) ↗https://www.nhsbsa.nhs.uk/pharmacies-gp-practices-and-appliance-contractors/serious-shortage-protocols-ssps#SSP088%20lansoprazole%2015mg%20orodispersible%20tablets.pdf

matched by medicine name — name-based until identifier coding refines it. Full protocol history →

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Lansoprazole 15mg and 30mg gastro-resistant capsules — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Lansoprazole

Also known as
Lansoprazole 10mg oral powder sachets · Lansoprazole 10mg/5ml oral liquid · Lansoprazole 11mg/5ml oral liquid · Lansoprazole 15mg gastro-resistant capsules · Lansoprazole 15mg oral powder sachets · Lansoprazole 15mg orodispersible tablets · +25 more
BNF chemical
Lansoprazole 0103050L0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Proton pump inhibitors · Antisecretory drugs and mucosal protectants · Gastro-Intestinal System
SNOMED codes
10131611000001105, 10131811000001109, 10288611000001105, 10289311000001106, 10302811000001103 and 151 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · AAH Hillcross · Accord-UK Ltd · Alliance Healthcare (Distribution) Ltd · Almus Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Arrow Generics Ltd · +28 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

One supply notification on record, 07 Sep 2026. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
07 Sep 2026Medicine Supply Notification: Lansoprazole 15mg and 30mg orodispersible tabletsSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2026/044

Also recorded under

No other name appears in this medicine's notice titles. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
09 Sep 2026
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-lansoprazole-15mg-and-30mg-orodispersible-tablets/ · Signed protocol (NHSBSA) ↗ · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.