Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (13 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Lantus

As of 03 Nov 2026 11:31 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2024/008 Tier 2 · issued 23 Jan 2024 (1015 days ago)
Expected backno date stated by the source in the latest recorded notice
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
Scotlandno NHS Scotland alert matched to this name (separate record)

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2024/008 (23 Jan 2024): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Lantus® (insulin glargine) Solostar® 100units/ml solution for injection 3ml pre-filled pensaffected product · inferred from phrasingLimited supply, as statedto be confirmed, as statednotice of 23 Jan 2024
Abasaglar® (insulin glargine) KwikPen® 100units/ml solution for injection 3ml pre-filled pensnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 23 Jan 2024
Lantus® (insulin glargine) 100units/ml solution for injection 10ml vials and 3ml cartridgesnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand— not stated for this linenotice of 23 Jan 2024

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Abasaglar® (insulin glargine) KwikPen® 100units/ml solution for injection 3ml pre-filled pens — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Lantus® (insulin glargine) 100units/ml solution for injection 10ml vials and 3ml cartridges — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Lantus

Also known as
Lantus 100units/ml inj 3ml OptiClik cartridges · Lantus 100units/ml inj 3ml pre-filled OptiSet pens · Lantus 100units/ml inj 3ml pre-filled SoloStar pens · Lantus 100units/ml solution for injection 10ml vials · Lantus 100units/ml solution for injection 3ml cartridges
BNF chemical
Insulin glargine 0601012V0 — matched on a brand name
Class
Insulin · Drugs used in diabetes · Endocrine System
SNOMED codes
10250211000001101, 11933011000001106, 3283211000001100, 3284211000001102, 3287911000001100
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
Sanofi (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

One supply notification on record, 23 Jan 2024. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: insulin glargine. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

No NHS Scotland Medicine Supply Alert Notice on record matches this name. Scotland is a separate record (all Scotland alerts); absence here is not a statement about supply in Scotland.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
23 Jan 2024
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-lantus-solostar-insulin-glargine-100units-ml-solution-for-injection-3ml-pre-filled-pens · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.