Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (15 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Levobunolol

As of 05 Nov 2026 16:11 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2024/108 Tier 2 · issued 20 Nov 2024 (715 days ago)
Expected backno date stated by the source in the latest recorded notice
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2024)62 issued 21 Nov 2024 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2024/108 (20 Nov 2024): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Levobunolol (Betagan®) 0.5% eye drops 0.4ml unit dose preservative freeaffected product · inferred from phrasingDiscontinued, as stated— not stated for this linenotice of 20 Nov 2024
Alternative preservative free, single dose beta-blocker eye dropsclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 20 Nov 2024

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

The latest recorded notice names no alternative as remaining available.

Identifiers — Levobunolol

Also known as
Levobunolol 0.5% eye drops · Levobunolol 0.5% eye drops 0.4ml unit dose preservative free
BNF chemical
Levobunolol hydrochloride 1106000T0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Treatment of glaucoma · Eye
SNOMED codes
15107011000001107, 36038511000001104, 42192311000001109, 603111000001101, 617311000001109 and 2 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Sigma Pharmaceuticals Plc · Teva UK Ltd (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

One supply notification on record, 20 Nov 2024. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
20 Nov 2024Medicine Supply Notification: Levobunolol (Betagan®) 0.5% eye drops 0.4ml unit dose preservative freeSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2024/108

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: betagan. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
12 Jul 2026
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-levobunolol-betagan-0-5-eye-drops-0-4ml-unit-dose-preservative-free · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.