As of 06 Nov 2026 04:41 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.
Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice
Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2025/028 (07 May 2025): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.
| Presentation | Status, as stated | Expected back, as stated | Stated in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lidocaine (Xylocaine®) 10mg/dose spray sugar freeaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated | late June 2025precision: late in the month · window end 30 Jun 2025, derived from “late June 2025” | notice of 07 May 2025 |
| Lidocaine 5% / Phenylephrine 0.5% nasal spraynamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand | — not stated for this line | notice of 07 May 2025 |
| Lidocaine 150mg/g / Cetrimide 1.5mg/g (Xylonor®) oromucosal spray sugar freenamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand | — not stated for this line | notice of 07 May 2025 |
| Lidocaine 50mg/g / Cetrimide 1.5mg/g (Xylonor®) gel sugar freenamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 07 May 2025 |
Protocol in force
No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.
Named in the source as remaining available
- Lidocaine 5% / Phenylephrine 0.5% nasal spray — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
- Lidocaine 150mg/g / Cetrimide 1.5mg/g (Xylonor®) oromucosal spray sugar free — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
- Lidocaine 50mg/g / Cetrimide 1.5mg/g (Xylonor®) gel sugar free — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.
Identifiers — Lidocaine
BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.
BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.
History
One supply notification on record, 07 May 2025. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.
| Issued | Notice | Kind | Tier | Reference |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 07 May 2025 | Medicine Supply Notification: Lidocaine (Xylocaine® ) 10mg/dose spray sugar free | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2025/028 |
Also recorded under
Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: xylocaine. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.
Scotland — separate record
NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.
- MSAN(2025)23 Lidocaine (Xylocaine®) 10mg/dose spray sugar free · issued 16 May 2025 · valid until 30 June 2025, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗