Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (16 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Lisdexamfetamine

As of 06 Nov 2026 07:40 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2024/051 · issued 08 May 2024 (912 days ago)
Expected backno date stated by the source in the latest recorded notice
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2024)6 issued 06 Mar 2024 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2024/051 (08 May 2024): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Elvanse® 20mg capsulesnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand— not stated for this linenotice of 08 May 2024
Elvanse® 30mg capsulesnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 08 May 2024
Generic dexamfetamine 5mg tablets and Amfexa (dexamfetamine) 5mg, 10mg, and 20mg tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 08 May 2024

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Elvanse® 20mg capsules — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Elvanse® 30mg capsules — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Generic dexamfetamine 5mg tablets and Amfexa (dexamfetamine) 5mg, 10mg, and 20mg tablets — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Lisdexamfetamine

Also known as
Lisdexamfetamine 20mg capsules · Lisdexamfetamine 30mg capsules · Lisdexamfetamine 40mg capsules · Lisdexamfetamine 50mg capsules · Lisdexamfetamine 60mg capsules · Lisdexamfetamine 70mg capsules
BNF chemical
Lisdexamfetamine dimesylate 0404000U0 — matched on a generic name
Class
CNS stimulants and drugs used for ADHD · Central Nervous System
SNOMED codes
42013311000001109, 42013411000001102, 42013511000001103, 42013611000001104, 42013711000001108 and 7 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
Imported (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

Notified short 2 times on record since 2024. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
08 May 2024Medicine Supply Notification: Lisdexamfetamine (Elvanse®) capsulesSupply notification—MSN/2024/051
13 Feb 2024Medicine Supply Notification: Lisdexamfetamine (Elvanse®) capsulesSupply notificationTier 3MSN/2024/019

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: elvanse. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
08 May 2024
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-lisdexamfetamine-elvanse-capsules-2 · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.