Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (11 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Nicorandil

As of 01 Nov 2026 17:51 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2024/096 Tier 2 · issued 19 Sep 2024 (773 days ago)
Expected backno date stated by the source in the latest recorded notice
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2024)55 issued 24 Sep 2024 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2024/096 (19 Sep 2024): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Nicorandil 20mg tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 19 Sep 2024
Alternative treatments for angina pectoris alsoclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 19 Sep 2024

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Nicorandil 20mg tablets — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Nicorandil

Also known as
Ikorel 10mg tablets · Ikorel 20mg tablets · Nicorandil 10mg oral powder sachets · Nicorandil 10mg tablets · Nicorandil 20mg oral powder sachets · Nicorandil 20mg tablets
BNF chemical
Nicorandil 0206030N0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Other antianginal drugs · Nitrates, calcium-channel blockers & other antianginal drugs · Cardiovascular System
SNOMED codes
13980711000001101, 14015511000001106, 18439811000001107, 18440011000001108, 18541811000001100 and 35 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Accord-UK Ltd · Creo Pharma Ltd · DE Pharmaceuticals · Dexcel-Pharma Ltd · Phoenix Healthcare Distribution Ltd · +9 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

One supply notification on record, 19 Sep 2024. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
19 Sep 2024Medicine Supply Notification: Nicorandil 10mg tabletsSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2024/096

Also recorded under

No other name appears in this medicine's notice titles. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
04 Oct 2024
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-nicorandil-10mg-tablets · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.