As of 05 Nov 2026 16:20 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.
Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice
Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2024/088 (22 Aug 2024): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.
| Presentation | Status, as stated | Expected back, as stated | Stated in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Norethisterone (Noriday®) 350microgram tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated | early December 2024precision: early in the month · window end 10 Dec 2024, derived from “early December 2024” | notice of 22 Aug 2024 |
| Desogestrel 75microgram tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 22 Aug 2024 |
| Levonorgestrel (Norgeston®) 30microgram tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand | — not stated for this line | notice of 22 Aug 2024 |
Protocol in force
No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.
Named in the source as remaining available
- Desogestrel 75microgram tablets — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
- Levonorgestrel (Norgeston®) 30microgram tablets — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.
Identifiers — Norethisterone
BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.
BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.
History
Notified short 2 times on record since 2024. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.
| Issued | Notice | Kind | Tier | Reference |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 22 Aug 2024 | Medicine Supply Notification: Norethisterone (Noriday® ) 350microgram tablets | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2024/088 |
| 25 Jan 2024 | Medicine Supply Notification: Norethisterone (Noriday® ) 350microgram tablets | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2024/009 |
Also recorded under
Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: noriday. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.
Scotland — separate record
NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.
- MSAN(2024)50 Norethisterone (Noriday®) 350microgram tablets · issued 28 Aug 2024 · valid until early December 2024, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗
- MSAN(2019)14 SYNPHASE® (ETHINYLESTRADIOL AND NORETHISTERONE) TABLETS · issued 15 Nov 2019 · valid until 20 December 2019, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗