As of 02 Nov 2026 11:57 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.
Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice
Each line is re-expressed from the latest notice (22 Apr 2021): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.
| Presentation | Status, as stated | Expected back, as stated | Stated in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Equivalent alternativesnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 22 Apr 2021 |
| Equivalent alternatives with same compositionnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 22 Apr 2021 |
Protocol in force
No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.
Named in the source as remaining available
- Equivalent alternatives — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
- Equivalent alternatives with same composition — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.
Identifiers — Oral Contraceptive
Grouping under review The name on this page has not been matched to one BNF chemical with enough confidence to assert it; nothing here is grouped until a reviewer confirms it.
BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name, confidence not asserted — grouping under review where marked
BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.
History
One supply notification on record, 22 Apr 2021. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.
| Issued | Notice | Kind | Tier | Reference |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 22 Apr 2021 | Medicine Supply Notification: Oral contraceptive tablets (various brands) - Update | Supply notification | — | — |
Also recorded under
No other name appears in this medicine's notice titles. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.
Scotland — separate record
NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.
- MSAN(2021)14 Oral Contraceptive tablets (various brands) · issued 31 Mar 2021 · valid until Various dates - see table, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗
- MSAN(2020)98 Oral Contraceptive tablets (various brands) · issued 09 Oct 2020 · valid until Various – see table, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗
- MSAN(2020)81 Oral Contraceptive tablets (various brands) · issued 26 Aug 2020 · valid until Various – see table, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗
- MSAN(2020)68 Oral Contraceptive tablets (various brands) · issued 23 Jul 2020 · valid until Various – see table, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗