As of 05 Nov 2026 20:14 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.
Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice
Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2023/062 (29 Jun 2023): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.
| Presentation | Status, as stated | Expected back, as stated | Stated in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Paracetamol 60mg suppositoriesaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated | w/c 1st April 2024precision: a month · window end 07 Apr 2024, derived from “w/c 1st April 2024” | notice of 29 Jun 2023 |
| Paracetamol 125mg suppositoriesaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated | October 2023precision: a month · window end 31 Oct 2023, derived from “October 2023” | notice of 29 Jun 2023 |
| Paracetamol 240mg suppositoriesaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated | w/c 10th July 2023precision: a month · window end 16 Jul 2023, derived from “w/c 10th July 2023” | notice of 29 Jun 2023 |
| Paracetamol 250mg suppositoriesaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated | October 2023precision: a month · window end 31 Oct 2023, derived from “October 2023” | notice of 29 Jun 2023 |
| Paracetamol 120mg suppositoriesnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 29 Jun 2023 |
| Paracetamol 500mg and 1000mg suppositories (Typharm)named by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 29 Jun 2023 |
Protocol in force
No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register — 4 earlier protocols on this record have expired: SSP051 (to 12 May 2023), SSP050 (to 12 May 2023), SSP033 (to 26 Aug 2022), SSP015 (to 04 Mar 2022). Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.
Named in the source as remaining available
- Paracetamol 120mg suppositories — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
- Paracetamol 500mg and 1000mg suppositories (Typharm) — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.
Identifiers — Paracetamol
BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.
BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.
History
Notified short 3 times on record since 2022 — a recurring shortage spanning 1.1 years. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.
| Issued | Notice | Kind | Tier | Reference |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 29 Jun 2023 | Medicine Supply Notification: Paracetamol suppositories | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2023/062 |
| 16 Feb 2023 | Medicine Supply Notification: Paracetamol 120mg and 240mg suppositories - Updated | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2023/020 |
| 31 May 2022 | Medicine Supply Notification: Paracetamol 120mg suppositories | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2022/053 |
Also recorded under
No other name appears in this medicine's notice titles. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.
Scotland — separate record
No NHS Scotland Medicine Supply Alert Notice on record matches this name. Scotland is a separate record (all Scotland alerts); absence here is not a statement about supply in Scotland.