Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (14 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Paroxetine

As of 04 Nov 2026 08:27 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2022/063 Tier 2 · issued 14 Jul 2022 (1574 days ago)
Expected backno date stated by the source in the latest recorded notice
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2022)1 issued 19 Jul 2022 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2022/063 (14 Jul 2022): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Paroxetine (Seroxat®) 20mg/10ml oral suspensionaffected product · inferred from phrasingDiscontinued, as stated— not stated for this linenotice of 14 Jul 2022
Paroxetine tablets and unlicensed specials of paroxetine 10mg/5ml oral suspensionunlicensed import named by the source · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 14 Jul 2022

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Paroxetine tablets and unlicensed specials of paroxetine 10mg/5ml oral suspension — unlicensed import named by the source (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Paroxetine

Also known as
Paroxetine 10mg tablets · Paroxetine 10mg/5ml oral liquid · Paroxetine 10mg/5ml oral suspension sugar free · Paroxetine 20mg tablets · Paroxetine 20mg/5ml oral liquid · Paroxetine 30mg tablets · +2 more
BNF chemical
Paroxetine hydrochloride 0403030P0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Selective serotonin re-uptake inhibitors · Antidepressant drugs · Central Nervous System
SNOMED codes
11427011000001101, 11427211000001106, 11533011000001102, 115611000001107, 12982111000001107 and 83 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Accord-UK Ltd · Alissa Healthcare Research Ltd · Alliance Healthcare (Distribution) Ltd · Almus Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Apotex UK Ltd · +24 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

One supply notification on record, 14 Jul 2022. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
14 Jul 2022Medicine Supply Notification: Paroxetine (Seroxat®) 20mg/10ml oral suspensionSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2022/063

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: seroxat. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
17 Jun 2024
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-paroxetine-seroxat-20mg-10ml-oral-suspension · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.