As of 04 Nov 2026 16:28 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.
Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice
Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2026/010 (16 Feb 2026): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.
| Presentation | Status, as stated | Expected back, as stated | Stated in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Phenobarbital 30mg tablets and 60mg tablets (Teva)affected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated | mid/late March 2026precision: late in the month · window end 31 Mar 2026, derived from “mid/late March 2026” | notice of 16 Feb 2026 |
| Phenobarbital 60mg tablets (Accord)affected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated | late February 2026precision: late in the month · window end 28 Feb 2026, derived from “late February 2026” | notice of 16 Feb 2026 |
| Phenobarbital 30mg tablets from other manufacturers (Accord and Bristol)named by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 16 Feb 2026 |
| Phenobarbital 15mg tablets (Teva)named by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available; can support only a partial uplift | — not stated for this line | notice of 16 Feb 2026 |
Protocol in force
No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.
Named in the source as remaining available
- Phenobarbital 30mg tablets from other manufacturers (Accord and Bristol) — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
- Phenobarbital 15mg tablets (Teva) — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.
Identifiers — Phenobarbital
BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.
BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.
History
Notified short 3 times on record since 2024 — a recurring shortage spanning 1.9 years. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.
| Issued | Notice | Kind | Tier | Reference |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 16 Feb 2026 | Medicine Supply Notification: Phenobarbital 30mg and 60mg tablets | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2026/010 |
| 20 May 2025 | Medicine Supply Notification: Phenobarbital 15mg/5ml elixir | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2025/032 |
| 10 Apr 2024 | Medicine Supply Notification: Phenobarbital 15mg tablets (Accord) | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2024/039 |
Also recorded under
No other name appears in this medicine's notice titles. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.
Scotland — separate record
NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.
- MSAN(2026)8 Phenobarbital 30mg and 60mg tablets · issued 18 Feb 2026 · valid until late March 2026, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗
- MSAN(2025)26 Phenobarbital 15mg/5ml elixir · issued 27 May 2025 · valid until late June 2025, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗
- MSAN(2024)15 Phenobarbital 15mg tablets (Accord) · issued 25 Apr 2024 · valid until TBC, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗