Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (12 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Pilocarpine Hydrochloride

As of 02 Nov 2026 12:42 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2022/107 Tier 2 · issued 21 Dec 2022 (1412 days ago)
Expected backw/c 26th December 2022 as stated in the latest recorded notice stated date passed — no update recorded (1401 days)window end 01 Jan 2023, derived from “w/c 26th December 2022”
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2023)20 issued 29 Aug 2023 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2022/107 (21 Dec 2022): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Pilocarpine 4% eye dropsaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedw/c 26th December 2022precision: a month · window end 01 Jan 2023, derived from “w/c 26th December 2022”notice of 21 Dec 2022
Alternative strengths of pilocarpine (1% and 2%) eye dropsclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 21 Dec 2022
Specials of pilocarpine 4% preservative free eye dropsunlicensed import named by the source · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 21 Dec 2022

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Specials of pilocarpine 4% preservative free eye drops — unlicensed import named by the source (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Pilocarpine Hydrochloride

Also known as
Pilocarpine hydrochloride 0.1% eye drops · Pilocarpine hydrochloride 0.125% eye drops · Pilocarpine hydrochloride 0.25% eye drops · Pilocarpine hydrochloride 0.4% eye drops preservative free · Pilocarpine hydrochloride 0.5% eye drops · Pilocarpine hydrochloride 0.5% eye drops preservative free · +12 more
BNF chemical
Pilocarpine hydrochloride 1106000X0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Treatment of glaucoma · Eye
SNOMED codes
111811000001108, 128011000001100, 13611000001104, 16020711000001106, 16127011000001102 and 65 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Actavis UK Ltd · Alcon Eye Care UK Ltd · Alliance Healthcare (Distribution) Ltd · Blumont Pharma Ltd · DE Pharmaceuticals · +5 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

One supply notification on record, 21 Dec 2022. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
21 Dec 2022Medicine Supply Notification: Pilocarpine hydrochloride 4% eye dropsSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2022/107

Also recorded under

No other name appears in this medicine's notice titles. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
28 Nov 2023
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-pilocarpine-hydrochloride-4-eye-drops · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.