Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (15 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Piroxicam

As of 05 Nov 2026 03:55 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2022/011 Tier 2 · issued 15 Feb 2022 (1724 days ago)
Expected backlate April 2022 as stated in the latest recorded notice stated date passed — no update recorded (1650 days)window end 30 Apr 2022, derived from “late April 2022”
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
Scotlandno NHS Scotland alert matched to this name (separate record)

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2022/011 (15 Feb 2022): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Feldene Melt® (piroxicam 20mg orodispersible tablets)affected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedlate April 2022precision: late in the month · window end 30 Apr 2022, derived from “late April 2022”notice of 15 Feb 2022
Piroxicam 10mg and 20mg capsulesnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 15 Feb 2022
Other nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs)class-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 15 Feb 2022

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Piroxicam 10mg and 20mg capsules — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Piroxicam

Also known as
Feldene 0.5% gel · Feldene P 0.5% gel · Piroxicam 0.5% gel
BNF chemical
Piroxicam 1003020R0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Rubefacients, topical NSAIDs, capsaicin and poultices · Drugs for soft-tissue disorders and topical pain relief · Musculoskeletal and Joint Diseases
SNOMED codes
11012611000001106, 11150011000001102, 11410111000001107, 15172211000001105, 17878911000001108 and 15 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Accord-UK Ltd · DE Pharmaceuticals · Manx Healthcare Ltd · Mawdsley-Brooks & Company Ltd · Pfizer Ltd · +6 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026. chemical 'Piroxicam' appears under 2 BNF codes; 1003020R0 (most presentations) taken.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

One supply notification on record, 15 Feb 2022. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
15 Feb 2022Medicine Supply Notification: Piroxicam (Feldene Melt® ) 20mg orodispersible tabletsSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2022/011

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: feldene melt. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

No NHS Scotland Medicine Supply Alert Notice on record matches this name. Scotland is a separate record (all Scotland alerts); absence here is not a statement about supply in Scotland.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
06 Jun 2023
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-piroxicam-feldene-melt-20mg-orodispersible-tablets · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.