Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (16 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Promethazine Hydrochloride

As of 06 Nov 2026 15:49 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2023/015 Tier 2 · issued 15 Feb 2023 (1360 days ago)
Expected backmid-April 2023 as stated in the latest recorded notice stated date passed — no update recorded (1296 days)window end 20 Apr 2023, derived from “mid-April 2023”
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2022)4 issued 29 Jul 2022 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2023/015 (15 Feb 2023): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Promethazine hydrochloride (Phenergan® elixir) 5mg/5ml oral solution sugar freeaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedmid-April 2023precision: mid-month · window end 20 Apr 2023, derived from “mid-April 2023”notice of 15 Feb 2023
Promethazine hydrochloride 10mg and 25mg tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 15 Feb 2023
Alternative sedating antihistamines available as a liquid formulationclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 15 Feb 2023

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Promethazine hydrochloride 10mg and 25mg tablets — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Promethazine Hydrochloride

Also known as
Phenergan 10mg tablets · Phenergan 25mg tablets · Phenergan 25mg/1ml solution for injection ampoules · Phenergan 5mg/5ml elixir · Phenergan Nightime 25mg tablets · Promethazine 25mg/1ml solution for injection ampoules · +9 more
BNF chemical
Promethazine hydrochloride 0304010W0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Antihistamines · Antihistamines, hyposensitisation and allergic emergencies · Respiratory System
SNOMED codes
13142111000001105, 13142511000001101, 13149011000001102, 13149211000001107, 134411000001102 and 33 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Alliance Healthcare (Distribution) Ltd · DE Pharmaceuticals · Dexcel-Pharma Ltd · Genesis Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Imported · +8 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

Notified short 2 times on record since 2022. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
15 Feb 2023Medicine Supply Notification: Promethazine hydrochloride (Phenergan® elixir) 5mg/5ml oral solution sugar freeSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2023/015
06 Jul 2022Medicine Supply Notification: Promethazine hydrochloride 25mg tabletsSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2022/060

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: phenergan. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
16 Oct 2023
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-promethazine-hydrochloride-phenergan-elixir-5mg-5ml-oral-solution-sugar-free · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.