Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (16 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Promixin

As of 06 Nov 2026 13:11 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England safety alertNatPSA/2025/001/DHSC · issued 17 Mar 2025 (599 days ago)
Expected backmid- April 2025 as stated in the latest recorded notice stated date passed — no update recorded (565 days)window end 20 Apr 2025, derived from “mid- April 2025”
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
Scotlandno NHS Scotland alert matched to this name (separate record)

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from NatPSA/2025/001/DHSC (17 Mar 2025): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Promixin® (colistimethate) 1-million-unit powder for nebuliser solution unit dose vials (UDVs)affected product · inferred from phrasingDiscontinued, as stated— not stated for this linenotice of 17 Mar 2025
Colicym® (colistimethate) 1million-unit powder for nebuliser solution unit dose vialsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 17 Mar 2025
Colomycin® (colistimethate) 1million-unit and 2million-unit powder for solution for injection, infusion or inhalation vialsaffected product · inferred from phrasingLimited supply, as stated⚠ the source line states more than one status — first stated shownmid- April 2025precision: mid-month · window end 20 Apr 2025, derived from “mid- April 2025”notice of 17 Mar 2025

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Colicym® (colistimethate) 1million-unit powder for nebuliser solution unit dose vials — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Promixin

Also known as
Promixin 1million unit inj vials · Promixin 1million unit pdr for neb soln unit dose vials
BNF chemical
Colistimethate sodium 0501070I0 — matched on a brand name
Class
Some other antibacterials · Antibacterial drugs · Infections
SNOMED codes
4252411000001104, 4658711000001106
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
Zambon UK Ltd (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

One supply notification on record, 17 Mar 2025. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: colistimethate. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

No NHS Scotland Medicine Supply Alert Notice on record matches this name. Scotland is a separate record (all Scotland alerts); absence here is not a statement about supply in Scotland.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
18 Mar 2025
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/national-patient-safety-alert-discontinuation-of-promixin-colistimethate-1-million-unit-powder-for-nebuliser-solution-unit-dose-vials · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.