As of 04 Nov 2026 13:12 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.
Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice
Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2026/007 (10 Feb 2026): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.
| Presentation | Status, as stated | Expected back, as stated | Stated in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sulfadiazine silver (Flamazine®) 1% cream (250g)affected product · inferred from phrasing | Discontinued, as stated | — not stated for this line | notice of 10 Feb 2026 |
| Sulfadiazine silver (Flamazine®) 1% cream (50g)affected product · inferred from phrasing | Discontinued, as stated | — not stated for this line | notice of 10 Feb 2026 |
| Sulfadiazine silver (Flamazine®) 1% cream (20g and 500g)affected product · inferred from phrasing | Discontinued, as stated | — not stated for this line | notice of 10 Feb 2026 |
| Alternative products for the treatment of burns and wound careclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 10 Feb 2026 |
| Unlicensed imported supplies of sulfadiazine silver 1% creamunlicensed import named by the source · inferred from phrasing | Discontinued, as stated | — not stated for this line | notice of 10 Feb 2026 |
Protocol in force
No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.
Named in the source as remaining available
The latest recorded notice names no alternative as remaining available.
Identifiers — Sulfadiazine Silver
BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.
BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.
History
Notified short 2 times on record since 2024 — a recurring shortage spanning 1.8 years. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.
| Issued | Notice | Kind | Tier | Reference |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10 Feb 2026 | Medicine Supply Notification: Sulfadiazine silver (Flamazine®) 1% cream | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2026/007 |
| 08 May 2024 | Medicine Supply Notification: Sulfadiazine silver (Flamazine® ) 1% cream | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2024/052 |
Also recorded under
Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: flamazine. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.
Scotland — separate record
NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.
- MSAN(2026)6 Sulfadiazine silver (Flamazine®) 1% cream · issued 13 Feb 2026 · valid until noted products are being discontinued, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗