Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (13 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Testosterone

As of 03 Nov 2026 14:36 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2023/118 Tier 2 · issued 21 Dec 2023 (1048 days ago)
Expected backno date stated by the source in the latest recorded notice
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
Scotlandno NHS Scotland alert matched to this name (separate record)

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2023/118 (21 Dec 2023): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Testosterone (Testim®) 50mg/5g transdermal gel unit dose tubesaffected product · inferred from phrasingDiscontinued, as stated— not stated for this linenotice of 21 Dec 2023
Alternative testosterone preparations (Tostran®, Testavan® and Testogel®)named by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 21 Dec 2023

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Alternative testosterone preparations (Tostran®, Testavan® and Testogel®) — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Testosterone

Also known as
Androderm 5mg/24hours transdermal patches · Androfeme 1% cream · Andropatch 2.5mg/24hours patches · Andropatch 5mg/24hours patches · Intrinsa 300micrograms/24hours transdermal patches · Striant SR 30mg muco-adhesive buccal tablets · +26 more
BNF chemical
Testosterone 0604020K0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Male sex hormones and antagonists · Sex Hormones · Endocrine System
SNOMED codes
10138311000001107, 10138511000001101, 11391011000001107, 11391311000001105, 11558511000001102 and 39 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Advanz Pharma Germany GmbH · Besins Healthcare (UK) Ltd · Endo Ventures Ltd · Ferring Pharmaceuticals Ltd · GlaxoSmithKline UK Ltd · +5 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (chemical name), confidence 0.85 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

Notified short 2 times on record since 2023. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
21 Dec 2023Medicine Supply Notification: Testosterone (Testim® ) 50mg/5g transdermal gel unit dose tubesSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2023/118
04 Jul 2023Medicine Supply Notification: Testosterone (Tostran®) 2% gelSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2023/064

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: testim, tostran. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

No NHS Scotland Medicine Supply Alert Notice on record matches this name. Scotland is a separate record (all Scotland alerts); absence here is not a statement about supply in Scotland.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
24 Sep 2024
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-testosterone-testim-50mg-5g-transdermal-gel-unit-dose-tubes/?unlid=3213882592024924172516 · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.