Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (13 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Tolterodine

As of 03 Nov 2026 12:14 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2025/031 Tier 2 · issued 20 May 2025 (532 days ago)
Expected backmid-August and mid-September 2025 as stated in the latest recorded notice stated date passed — no update recorded (409 days)window end 20 Sep 2025, derived from “mid-August and mid-September 2025”
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2025)25 issued 27 May 2025 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2025/031 (20 May 2025): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Tolterodine 2mg and 4mg modified-release (MR) capsulesaffected product · inferred from phrasingLimited supply, as statedmid-August and mid-September 2025precision: mid-month · window end 20 Sep 2025, derived from “mid-August and mid-September 2025”notice of 20 May 2025
Tolterodine 1mg and 2mg immediate release (IR) tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 20 May 2025
Alternative once-daily antimuscarinics alsoclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 20 May 2025

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Tolterodine 1mg and 2mg immediate release (IR) tablets — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Tolterodine

Also known as
Blerone XL 4mg capsules · Detrusitol 1mg tablets · Detrusitol 2mg tablets · Detrusitol XL 4mg capsules · Efflosomyl XL 4mg capsules · Inconex XL 4mg capsules · +20 more
BNF chemical
Tolterodine 0704020N0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Drugs for urinary frequency enuresis and incontinence · Drugs for genito-urinary disorders · Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Urinary-Tract Disorders
SNOMED codes
12211000001107, 14077311000001100, 14077611000001105, 14160411000001105, 14160511000001109 and 64 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Accord-UK Ltd · Actavis UK Ltd · Almus Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Arrow Generics Ltd · Aspire Pharma Ltd · +15 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

One supply notification on record, 20 May 2025. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
20 May 2025Medicine Supply Notification: Tolterodine 2mg and 4mg modified-release capsulesSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2025/031

Also recorded under

No other name appears in this medicine's notice titles. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
12 Jul 2026
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-tolterodine-2mg-and-4mg-modified-release-capsules · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.