Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (15 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Atomoxetine

As of 04 Nov 2026 22:35 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2023/068 Tier 2 · issued 21 Jul 2023 (1202 days ago)
Expected backSeptember 2023 as stated in the latest recorded notice stated date passed — no update recorded (1131 days)window end 30 Sep 2023, derived from “September 2023”
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2023)13 issued 25 Jul 2023 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2023/068 (21 Jul 2023): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Atomoxetine 40mg and 60mg capsulesaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedSeptember 2023precision: a month · window end 30 Sep 2023, derived from “September 2023”notice of 21 Jul 2023
Other strengths and formulations of atomoxetineclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 21 Jul 2023
Guanfacine (Intuniv®) prolonged release tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing · its own page →Stated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 21 Jul 2023

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Atomoxetine

Also known as
Atomoxetine 100mg capsules · Atomoxetine 10mg capsules · Atomoxetine 10mg/5ml oral solution · Atomoxetine 18mg capsules · Atomoxetine 20mg/5ml oral suspension · Atomoxetine 25mg capsules · +11 more
BNF chemical
Atomoxetine hydrochloride 0404000S0 — matched on a generic name
Class
CNS stimulants and drugs used for ADHD · Central Nervous System
SNOMED codes
20576311000001103, 20585511000001109, 23628811000001104, 23637611000001100, 27371411000001109 and 140 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Accord-UK Ltd · Alliance Healthcare (Distribution) Ltd · Amarox Ltd · Aspire Pharma Ltd · Consilient Health Ltd · +12 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

One supply notification on record, 21 Jul 2023. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
21 Jul 2023Medicine Supply Notification: Atomoxetine 40mg and 60mg capsulesSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2023/068

Also recorded under

No other name appears in this medicine's notice titles. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
22 Jul 2023
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-atomoxetine-40mg-and-60mg-capsules · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.