As of 06 Nov 2026 15:59 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.
Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice
Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2022/098 (24 Nov 2022): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.
| Presentation | Status, as stated | Expected back, as stated | Stated in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Atorvastatin (Lipitor®) 20mg chewable tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated | late December 2022precision: late in the month · window end 31 Dec 2022, derived from “late December 2022” | notice of 24 Nov 2022 |
| Atorvastatin 20mg film-coated tablets and atorvastatin 20mg/5ml oral suspensionnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 24 Nov 2022 |
| Atorvastatin (Lipitor®) 10mg chewable tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Limited supply, as stated⚠ the source line states more than one status — first stated shown | — not stated for this line | notice of 24 Nov 2022 |
Protocol in force
No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register — 5 earlier protocols on this record have expired: SSP032 (to 12 May 2023), SSP039 (to 03 Feb 2023), SSP017 (to 05 Apr 2022), SSP016 (to 18 Mar 2022), SSP013 (to 12 Jan 2022). Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.
Named in the source as remaining available
- Atorvastatin 20mg film-coated tablets and atorvastatin 20mg/5ml oral suspension — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.
Identifiers — Atorvastatin
BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.
BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.
History
Notified short 3 times on record since 2022. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.
| Issued | Notice | Kind | Tier | Reference |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 24 Nov 2022 | Medicine Supply Notification: Atorvastatin (Lipitor® ) 20mg chewable tablets | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2022/098 |
| 31 May 2022 | Medicine Supply Notification: Atorvastatin (Lipitor®) 10mg chewable tablets | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2022/052 |
| 15 Feb 2022 | Medicine Supply Notification: Atorvastatin (Lipitor® ) 10mg and 20mg chewable tablets | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2022/010 |
Also recorded under
Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: lipitor. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.
Scotland — separate record
No NHS Scotland Medicine Supply Alert Notice on record matches this name. Scotland is a separate record (all Scotland alerts); absence here is not a statement about supply in Scotland.