Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (14 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Lipitor

As of 04 Nov 2026 05:37 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2021/055 Tier 2 · issued 18 Nov 2021 (1812 days ago)
Expected backlate December 2021 as stated in the latest recorded notice stated date passed — no update recorded (1769 days)window end 31 Dec 2021, derived from “late December 2021”
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol in force; 5 expired on this record (below)
Scotlandno NHS Scotland alert matched to this name (separate record)

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2021/055 (18 Nov 2021): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Lipitor® 20mg chewable tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedlate December 2021precision: late in the month · window end 31 Dec 2021, derived from “late December 2021”notice of 18 Nov 2021
Lipitor® 10mg chewable tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand— not stated for this linenotice of 18 Nov 2021
Atorvastatin 20mg film-coated tablets alsonamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing · its own page →Stated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 18 Nov 2021

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register — 5 earlier protocols on this record have expired: SSP032 (to 12 May 2023), SSP039 (to 03 Feb 2023), SSP017 (to 05 Apr 2022), SSP016 (to 18 Mar 2022), SSP013 (to 12 Jan 2022). Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Lipitor® 10mg chewable tablets — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Atorvastatin 20mg film-coated tablets also — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Lipitor

Also known as
Lipitor 10mg chewable tablets · Lipitor 10mg tablets · Lipitor 20mg chewable tablets · Lipitor 20mg tablets · Lipitor 40mg tablets · Lipitor 80mg tablets
BNF chemical
Atorvastatin 0212000B0 — matched on a brand name
Class
Lipid-regulating drugs · Cardiovascular System
SNOMED codes
19719311000001104, 19719611000001109, 232011000001102, 484211000001108, 643911000001108 and 1 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
Viatris UK Healthcare Ltd (from the dataset, not from the notices)
Also recorded under
Atorvastatin (generic) — same BNF chemical; separate pages, separate counts

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

One supply notification on record, 18 Nov 2021. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
18 Nov 2021Medicine Supply Notification: Lipitor® (Atorvastatin) 20mg chewable tabletsSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2021/055

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: atorvastatin. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

No NHS Scotland Medicine Supply Alert Notice on record matches this name. Scotland is a separate record (all Scotland alerts); absence here is not a statement about supply in Scotland.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
23 Jul 2024
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-lipitor-atorvastatin-20mg-chewable-tablets · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.