Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (14 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Azithromycin

As of 04 Nov 2026 17:07 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2023/096 Tier 2 · issued 12 Oct 2023 (1119 days ago)
Expected backno date stated by the source in the latest recorded notice
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2023)35 issued 16 Oct 2023 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2023/096 (12 Oct 2023): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Azithromycin (Azyter®) 15mg/g eye dropsaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as stated— not stated for this linenotice of 12 Oct 2023
Alternative topical and oral antibioticsclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 12 Oct 2023

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

The latest recorded notice names no alternative as remaining available.

Identifiers — Azithromycin

Also known as
Azithromycin 200mg/5ml oral suspension · Azithromycin 200mg/5ml oral suspension sugar free · Azithromycin 250mg capsules · Azithromycin 250mg tablets · Azithromycin 500mg tablets · Clamelle 500mg tablets · +3 more
BNF chemical
Azithromycin 0501050A0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Macrolides · Antibacterial drugs · Infections
SNOMED codes
11028111000001105, 11028411000001100, 11034311000001100, 11252111000001104, 11252311000001102 and 66 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Accord-UK Ltd · Actavis UK Ltd · Almus Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Aspire Pharma Ltd · Crescent Pharma Ltd · +15 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

One supply notification on record, 12 Oct 2023. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
12 Oct 2023Medicine Supply Notification: Azithromycin (Azyter® ) 15mg/g eye drops (0.25g unit dose, preservative free)Supply notificationTier 2MSN/2023/096

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: azyter. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
25 Oct 2023
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-azithromycin-azyter-15mg-g-eye-drops-0-25g-unit-dose-preservative-free · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.