As of 06 Nov 2026 12:45 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.
Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice
Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2026/002 (15 Jan 2026): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.
| Presentation | Status, as stated | Expected back, as stated | Stated in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Buprenorphine/naloxone (Suboxone®) 2mg/500microgram and 8mg/2mg sublingual tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Discontinued, as stated | — not stated for this line | notice of 15 Jan 2026 |
| Various strengths (0.7mg/0.18mg, 1.4mg/0.36mg, 5.7mg/1.4mg, 8.6mg/2.1mg, and 11.4mg/2.9mg) of short-dated buprenorphine/naloxone (Zubsolv®) sublingual tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available⚠ the source line states more than one status — first stated shown | — not stated for this line | notice of 15 Jan 2026 |
| Branded and generic buprenorphine sublingual tablets (2mg and 8mg) and buprenorphine oral lyophilisate 2mg and 8mg (Espranor®)named by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 15 Jan 2026 |
Protocol in force
No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.
Named in the source as remaining available
- Various strengths (0.7mg/0.18mg, 1.4mg/0.36mg, 5.7mg/1.4mg, 8.6mg/2.1mg, and 11.4mg/2.9mg) of short-dated buprenorphine/naloxone (Zubsolv®) sublingual tablets — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
- Branded and generic buprenorphine sublingual tablets (2mg and 8mg) and buprenorphine oral lyophilisate 2mg and 8mg (Espranor®) — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.
Identifiers — Buprenorphine
BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.
BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.
History
Notified short 3 times on record since 2025. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.
| Issued | Notice | Kind | Tier | Reference |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 15 Jan 2026 | Medicine Supply Notification: Buprenorphine/naloxone (Suboxone® ) 2mg/500microgram and 8mg/2mg sublingual tablets | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2026/002 |
| 19 Jun 2025 | Medicine Supply Notification: Buprenorphine (Relevtec®) 35micrograms/hour, 52.5micrograms/hour, 70micrograms/hour transdermal patches Buprenorphine (Bupeaze®) 52.5micrograms/hour transdermal patches | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2025/038 |
| 07 May 2025 | Medicine Supply Notification: Buprenorphine (Reletrans® ) 5micrograms/hour and 15micrograms/hour transdermal patches | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2025/030 |
Also recorded under
Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: reletrans, relevtec, suboxone. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.
Scotland — separate record
NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.
- MSAN(2026)4 Buprenorphine/naloxone (Suboxone®) 2mg/500microgram and 8mg/2mg · issued 16 Jan 2026 · valid until product has been discontinued, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗
- MSAN(2025)31 Buprenorphine (Relevtec®) 35micrograms/hour, 52.5micrograms/hour, · issued 25 Jun 2025 · valid until early October 2025, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗
- MSAN(2025)24 Buprenorphine (Reletrans®) 5micrograms/hour and 15micrograms/hour · issued 16 May 2025 · valid until early July 2025, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗
- MSAN(2020)118 Butec® (buprenorphine) 15microgram/hour transdermal patches (7-day) · issued 29 Dec 2020 · valid until w/c 18 January 2021, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗