As of 03 Nov 2026 13:08 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.
Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice
Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2021/037 (21 Jul 2021): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.
| Presentation | Status, as stated | Expected back, as stated | Stated in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Very limited supplies of Catapres® (clonidine) 100microgram tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Limited supply, as stated⚠ the source line states more than one status — first stated shown | w/c 4th October 2021precision: a month · window end 10 Oct 2021, derived from “w/c 4th October 2021” | notice of 21 Jul 2021 |
| Clonidine 25 microgram tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing · its own page → | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 21 Jul 2021 |
| Clonidine 50 microgram /5ml oral solution sugar freenamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing · its own page → | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 21 Jul 2021 |
Protocol in force
No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.
Named in the source as remaining available
- Clonidine 25 microgram tablets — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
- Clonidine 50 microgram /5ml oral solution sugar free — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.
Identifiers — Catapres
BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.
BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.
History
One supply notification on record, 21 Jul 2021. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.
| Issued | Notice | Kind | Tier | Reference |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 21 Jul 2021 | Medicine Supply Notification: Catapres® (clonidine) 100microgram tablets - Updated | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2021/037 |
Also recorded under
Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: clonidine. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.
Scotland — separate record
NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.
- MSAN(2025)57 Clonidine (Catapres®) 100microgram tablets · issued 30 Dec 2025 · valid until mid-February 2026, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗
- MSAN(2021)23 Catapres® (clonidine) 100microgram tablets · issued 03 Aug 2021 · valid until w/c 4th October 2021, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗
- MSAN(2020)18 Clonidine 25 microgram tablets · issued 13 Mar 2020 · valid until End April 2020, as stated · matched by the recorded name “clonidine” PDF ↗
- MSAN(2019)28 Clonidine 25 microgram tablets · issued 23 Dec 2019 · valid until mid-January 2020, as stated · matched by the recorded name “clonidine” PDF ↗