As of 02 Nov 2026 15:09 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.
Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice
Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2025/070 (23 Dec 2025): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.
| Presentation | Status, as stated | Expected back, as stated | Stated in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Clonidine (Catapres®) 100microgram tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated | mid-February 2026precision: mid-month · window end 20 Feb 2026, derived from “mid-February 2026” | notice of 23 Dec 2025 |
| Clonidine 25microgram tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 23 Dec 2025 |
| Clonidine 50micrograms/5ml and 100micrograms/5ml oral solution sugar freenamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 23 Dec 2025 |
Protocol in force
No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.
Named in the source as remaining available
- Clonidine 25microgram tablets — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
- Clonidine 50micrograms/5ml and 100micrograms/5ml oral solution sugar free — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.
Identifiers — Clonidine
BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026. chemical 'Clonidine hydrochloride' appears under 2 BNF codes; 0407042F0 (most presentations) taken.
BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.
History
One supply notification on record, 23 Dec 2025. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.
| Issued | Notice | Kind | Tier | Reference |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 23 Dec 2025 | Medicine Supply Notification: Clonidine (Catapres®) 100microgram tablets | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2025/070 |
Also recorded under
Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: catapres. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.
Scotland — separate record
NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.
- MSAN(2025)57 Clonidine (Catapres®) 100microgram tablets · issued 30 Dec 2025 · valid until mid-February 2026, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗
- MSAN(2021)23 Catapres® (clonidine) 100microgram tablets · issued 03 Aug 2021 · valid until w/c 4th October 2021, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗
- MSAN(2020)18 Clonidine 25 microgram tablets · issued 13 Mar 2020 · valid until End April 2020, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗
- MSAN(2019)28 Clonidine 25 microgram tablets · issued 23 Dec 2019 · valid until mid-January 2020, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗