Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (16 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Cefalexin

As of 06 Nov 2026 06:08 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2024/113 Tier 2 · issued 13 Dec 2024 (693 days ago)
Expected backno date stated by the source in the latest recorded notice
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol in force; 3 expired on this record (below)
ScotlandMSAN(2024)67 issued 27 Dec 2024 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2024/113 (13 Dec 2024): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Cefalexin 125mg/5ml and 250mg/5ml oral suspension (sugar free)affected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as stated— not stated for this linenotice of 13 Dec 2024
Cefalexin 125mg/5ml and 250mg/5ml oral suspension (non sugar free)named by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 13 Dec 2024

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register — 3 earlier protocols on this record have expired: SSP078 (to 28 Nov 2025), SSP077 (to 28 Nov 2025), SSP072 (to 27 Sep 2024). Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Cefalexin 125mg/5ml and 250mg/5ml oral suspension (non sugar free) — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Cefalexin

Also known as
Cefalexin 125mg/5ml oral suspension · Cefalexin 125mg/5ml oral suspension sugar free · Cefalexin 250mg capsules · Cefalexin 250mg tablets · Cefalexin 250mg/5ml oral suspension · Cefalexin 250mg/5ml oral suspension sugar free · +16 more
BNF chemical
Cefalexin 0501021L0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Cephalosporins and other beta-lactams · Antibacterial drugs · Infections
SNOMED codes
10388711000001105, 10388911000001107, 10389111000001102, 10389411000001107, 10456111000001106 and 137 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Actavis UK Ltd · Alliance Healthcare (Distribution) Ltd · Arrow Generics Ltd · Crescent Pharma Ltd · DE Pharmaceuticals · +16 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

Notified short 3 times on record since 2024. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
13 Dec 2024Medicine Supply Notification: Cefalexin 125mg/5ml and 250mg/5ml oral suspensions, sugar freeSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2024/113
06 Aug 2024Medicine Supply Notification: Cefalexin 500mg tabletsSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2024/083
10 Apr 2024Medicine Supply Notification: Cefalexin 125mg/5ml and 250mg/5ml oral suspensionSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2024/041

Also recorded under

No other name appears in this medicine's notice titles. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
12 Jul 2026
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-cefalexin-125mg-5ml-and-250mg-5ml-oral-suspensions-sugar-free · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.