Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (12 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← Shortage register

Medicine Supply Notification · MSN/2024/041

Medicine Supply Notification: Cefalexin 125mg/5ml and 250mg/5ml oral suspension

MSN/2024/041 Tier 2 · medium · issued 10 Apr 2024

Cefalexin has been notified short 3 times since 2024 — see the full history →
Reference
MSN/2024/041
Kind
Medicine Supply Notification
Issued
10 Apr 2024
Expected back
early-May 2024 as stated by the source — kept fuzzy
Recorded changes
2
Source
Announcement post ↗
Recovered from the Internet Archive · archived 23 Apr 2024 — not first-hand capture, dated by its own stated issue date (see methodology).

Presentations, as stated

Each product line re-expressed as the product named, the status the source stated and its expected-back phrase kept as written — not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock. Roles are inferred from phrasing.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Cefalexin 125mg/5ml oral suspensionaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedearly-July 2024precision: early in the month · window end 10 Jul 2024, derived from “early-July 2024”notice of 10 Apr 2024
Cefalexin 250mg/5ml oral suspensionaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedearly-July 2024precision: early in the month · window end 10 Jul 2024, derived from “early-July 2024”notice of 10 Apr 2024
Cefalexin 250mg tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedearly-May 2024precision: early in the month · window end 10 May 2024, derived from “early-May 2024”notice of 10 Apr 2024
Cefalexin 250mg and 500mg capsulesnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 10 Apr 2024
Cefalexin 500mg tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 10 Apr 2024
Cefaclor (Distaclor®) 125mg/5ml and 250mg/5ml oral suspensionsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available; can support only a partial uplift— not stated for this linenotice of 10 Apr 2024
Cefuroxime (Zinnat®) 125mg/5ml oral suspensionnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 10 Apr 2024
Alternative liquid formulations of antibioticsclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 10 Apr 2024

What changed

  1. 10 Apr 2024Supply notification issuedsource post
  2. 10 Apr 2024Expected backsource post

Provenance

Where this record's bytes came from and when they entered the record. The same fields ship with every API record (/api), so a citation can be checked against the capture. Internet-Archive recoveries are dated by the Archive's capture, never ours.

post:1f6a65dd1a4c

Recorded
23 Apr 2024 22:46 UTC (Internet Archive capture)
the earliest capture we hold is the Internet Archive's, not first-hand
Capture route
Recovered from the Internet Archive — not first-hand capture
Read from
Community Pharmacy England post (DHSC notification as relayed)
Captured at
23 Apr 2024 22:46 UTC
Content hash
510a91ef254739f2d446b63b1cba2987e8619012ff85eb03e1c48b51f1055c2d
sha256 of the captured bytes — proves what was captured, not that the source was correct
Source document
https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-cefalexin-125mg-5ml-and-250mg-5ml-oral-suspension ↗
Archive capture
https://web.archive.org/web/20240423224646id_/https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-cefalexin-125mg-5ml-and-250mg-5ml-oral-suspension ↗
Parser version
3
Source anomalies
  • multiple statuses on one line (['available_partial_uplift', 'available']) — recorded 'available_partial_uplift' (source line omitted; see the source document)
as recorded by the parser about the source as captured — flagged, never corrected
Subscribe to changes feed · calendar · site RSS · email
  • Atom Feed for CefalexinPaste this address into a feed reader (Outlook, Thunderbird, Feedly…): https://shortagesignal.co.uk/medicine/cefalexin/feed.xml
  • Calendar Stated expected-back windows for CefalexinAdd it to your calendar app as a subscription by URL and paste https://shortagesignal.co.uk/medicine/cefalexin/expected.ics. Per the vendors' own help pages: Outlook on the web— Calendar → Add calendar → Subscribe from web (Microsoft says a subscribed calendar “can sometimes take more than 24 hours” to refresh); Google Calendar— Other calendars → Add other calendars → From URL. Refresh timing is the calendar app's, not ours.
  • RSS The newest 50 recorded changes, site-wide · weekly digest (feed)
  • Email Email alerts are not yet sending.Leave your address and we'll send a confirmation link when alerts launch — nothing is sent until then, and nothing after unless you click it.

Feeds and calendars follow our twice-daily scheduled checks of the sources — they are not live. See privacy for what a sign-up stores.

Dates are as stated in the source documents. Fuzzy source dates are kept fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber.