Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (14 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Formoterol

As of 04 Nov 2026 05:20 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2024/018 Tier 2 · issued 12 Feb 2024 (996 days ago)
Expected backmid March 2024 as stated in the latest recorded notice stated date passed — no update recorded (959 days)window end 20 Mar 2024, derived from “mid March 2024”
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2026)28 issued 28 Aug 2026 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2024/018 (12 Feb 2024): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Formoterol (Oxis® 6 Turbohaler) 6micrograms/dose dry powder inhalersaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedmid March 2024precision: mid-month · window end 20 Mar 2024, derived from “mid March 2024”notice of 12 Feb 2024
Formoterol (Oxis® 12 Turbohaler) 12micrograms/dose dry powder inhalersnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 12 Feb 2024
Alternative inhalersclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 12 Feb 2024

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Formoterol (Oxis® 12 Turbohaler) 12micrograms/dose dry powder inhalers — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Formoterol

Also known as
Formoterol 12microgram inhalation pdr caps with device · Formoterol 12micrograms/dose dry powder inhaler · Formoterol 12micrograms/dose inhaler CFC free · Formoterol 6micrograms/dose dry powder inhaler
BNF chemical
Formoterol fumarate 0301011E0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Adrenoceptor agonists · Bronchodilators · Respiratory System
SNOMED codes
12626211000001108, 39112911000001101, 39113011000001109, 9652711000001107
Also recorded under
Formoterol Fumarate Dihydrate — same BNF chemical; separate pages, separate counts

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Sep 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

One supply notification on record, 12 Feb 2024. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
12 Feb 2024Medicine Supply Notification: Formoterol (Oxis® 6 Turbohaler) 6micrograms/dose dry powder inhalerSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2024/018

Also recorded under

No other name appears in this medicine's notice titles. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
21 Feb 2024
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-formoterol-oxis-6-turbohaler-6micrograms-dose-dry-powder-inhaler · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.