Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (15 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Galantamine

As of 05 Nov 2026 02:06 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2025/022 Tier 2 · issued 11 Apr 2025 (573 days ago)
Expected backlate July 2025 as stated in the latest recorded noticethe latest of 3 dates stated for this notice's lines (earliest “late May 2025”); 3 of 3 stated windows have passed stated date passed — no update recorded (462 days)window end 31 Jul 2025, derived from “late July 2025”
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2025)17 issued 22 Apr 2025 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2025/022 (11 Apr 2025): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Galantamine 8mg modified release capsulesaffected product · inferred from phrasingLimited supply, as statedlate July 2025precision: late in the month · window end 31 Jul 2025, derived from “late July 2025”notice of 11 Apr 2025
Galantamine 16mg modified release capsulesaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedlate May 2025precision: late in the month · window end 31 May 2025, derived from “late May 2025”notice of 11 Apr 2025
Galantamine 24mg modified release capsulesaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedlate July 2025precision: late in the month · window end 31 Jul 2025, derived from “late July 2025”notice of 11 Apr 2025
Galantamine 8mg, 16mg and 24mg tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasingDiscontinued, as stated— not stated for this linenotice of 11 Apr 2025
Galantamine 20mg/5ml oral solution sugar freenamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 11 Apr 2025
Alternative solid dosage forms of acetylcholinesterase (AChE) inhibitors (donepezil tablets and rivastigmine capsules)class-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 11 Apr 2025

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Galantamine 20mg/5ml oral solution sugar free — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Galantamine

Also known as
Acumor XL 16mg capsules · Acumor XL 24mg capsules · Acumor XL 8mg capsules · Consion XL 16mg capsules · Consion XL 24mg capsules · Consion XL 8mg capsules · +42 more
BNF chemical
Galantamine 0411000F0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Dementia · Drugs for dementia · Central Nervous System
SNOMED codes
17851011000001101, 19481711000001108, 19482311000001100, 19482511000001106, 19876711000001102 and 73 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Accord-UK Ltd · Aspire Pharma Ltd · Colorama Pharmaceuticals Ltd · DE Pharmaceuticals · Ennogen Healthcare Ltd · +17 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

One supply notification on record, 11 Apr 2025. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
11 Apr 2025Medicine Supply Notification: Galantamine 8mg, 16mg and 24mg modified-release capsulesSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2025/022

Also recorded under

No other name appears in this medicine's notice titles. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
12 Jul 2026
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-galantamine-8mg-16mg-and-24mg-modified-release-capsules · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.