As of 31 Oct 2026 18:17 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.
Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice
Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2025/016 (25 Mar 2025): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.
| Presentation | Status, as stated | Expected back, as stated | Stated in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Megestrol (Megace®) 160mg tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated | mid-April 2025precision: mid-month · window end 20 Apr 2025, derived from “mid-April 2025” | notice of 25 Mar 2025 |
| Medroxyprogesterone (Provera®) 200mg and 400mg tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing · its own page → | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 25 Mar 2025 |
| Medroxyprogesterone (Provera®) 100mg tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing · its own page → | Stated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand | — not stated for this line | notice of 25 Mar 2025 |
Protocol in force
No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.
Named in the source as remaining available
- Medroxyprogesterone (Provera®) 200mg and 400mg tablets — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
- Medroxyprogesterone (Provera®) 100mg tablets — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.
Identifiers — Megestrol
BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.
BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.
History
One supply notification on record, 25 Mar 2025. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.
| Issued | Notice | Kind | Tier | Reference |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 25 Mar 2025 | Medicine Supply Notification: Megestrol (Megace®) 160mg tablets | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2025/016 |
Also recorded under
Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: megace. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.
Scotland — separate record
No NHS Scotland Medicine Supply Alert Notice on record matches this name. Scotland is a separate record (all Scotland alerts); absence here is not a statement about supply in Scotland.