As of 06 Nov 2026 02:12 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.
Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice
Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2023/016 (15 Feb 2023): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.
| Presentation | Status, as stated | Expected back, as stated | Stated in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Medroxyprogesterone (Provera®) 2.5mg tabletsaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated | mid-March 2023precision: mid-month · window end 20 Mar 2023, derived from “mid-March 2023” | notice of 15 Feb 2023 |
| Medroxyprogesterone (Provera®) 5mg and 10mg tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand | — not stated for this line | notice of 15 Feb 2023 |
| Norethisterone 5mg tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing · its own page → | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 15 Feb 2023 |
Protocol in force
No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.
Named in the source as remaining available
- Medroxyprogesterone (Provera®) 5mg and 10mg tablets — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
- Norethisterone 5mg tablets — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.
Identifiers — Medroxyprogesterone
BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026. chemical 'Medroxyprogesterone acetate' appears under 3 BNF codes; 0803020H0 (most presentations) taken.
BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.
History
Notified short 2 times on record since 2022. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.
| Issued | Notice | Kind | Tier | Reference |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 15 Feb 2023 | Medicine Supply Notification: Medroxyprogesterone (Provera® ) 2.5mg tablets | Supply notification | Tier 3 | MSN/2023/016 |
| 20 Oct 2022 | Medicine Supply Notification: Medroxyprogesterone (Provera®) 2.5mg and 10mg tablets | Supply notification | Tier 3 | MSN/2022/074 |
| 01 Sep 2022 | Medicine Supply Notification: Medroxyprogesterone (Provera® ) 10mg tablets | Supply notification | Tier 3 | MSN/2022/074 |
Also recorded under
Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: provera. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.
Scotland — separate record
NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.
- MSAN(2023)24 Estradiol valerate/medroxyprogesterone acetate (Indivina®) 1mg/5mg tablets · issued 19 Sep 2023 · valid until w/c 11th December 2023, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗
- MSAN(2019)16 PROVERA® (MEDROXYPROGESTERONE ACETATE) 100mg AND 200mg · issued 15 Nov 2019 · valid until Ongoing, as stated · matched by name PDF ↗
- MSAN(2019)2 MEDICINE / DRUG IN SHORT SUPPLY: PROVERA® For action · issued 23 Sep 2019 · valid until 8 November 2019 Pharmacists, as stated · matched by the recorded name “provera” PDF ↗