Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (14 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Memantine

As of 04 Nov 2026 11:40 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2025/005 Tier 2 · issued 28 Jan 2025 (645 days ago)
Expected backlate April 2025 as stated in the latest recorded notice stated date passed — no update recorded (553 days)window end 30 Apr 2025, derived from “late April 2025”
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2025)6 issued 05 Feb 2025 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2025/005 (28 Jan 2025): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Memantine (Valios®) 5mg orodispersible tablets sugar freeaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedlate April 2025precision: late in the month · window end 30 Apr 2025, derived from “late April 2025”notice of 28 Jan 2025
Memantine 5 mg/10 mg/15 mg/20 mg tablets treatment initiation packnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 28 Jan 2025
Memantine 10mg/ml oral solution sugar free and memantine (Ebixa®) 5mg/0.5ml pump actuation oral solutionnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 28 Jan 2025
Memantine 10mg and 20mg film coated tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 28 Jan 2025
Memantine (Valios®) 10mg and 20mg orodispersible tablets sugar freenamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 28 Jan 2025

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Memantine 5 mg/10 mg/15 mg/20 mg tablets treatment initiation pack — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Memantine 10mg/ml oral solution sugar free and memantine (Ebixa®) 5mg/0.5ml pump actuation oral solution — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Memantine 10mg and 20mg film coated tablets — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Memantine (Valios®) 10mg and 20mg orodispersible tablets sugar free — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Memantine

Also known as
Memantine 10mg orodispersible tablets sugar free · Memantine 10mg soluble tablets sugar free · Memantine 10mg tablets · Memantine 10mg/ml oral solution sugar free · Memantine 20mg orodispersible tablets sugar free · Memantine 20mg soluble tablets sugar free · +4 more
BNF chemical
Memantine hydrochloride 0411000G0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Dementia · Drugs for dementia · Central Nervous System
SNOMED codes
10694911000001108, 10695111000001109, 13939111000001104, 14159211000001107, 22225211000001104 and 80 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Accord-UK Ltd · Alliance Healthcare (Distribution) Ltd · Aspire Pharma Ltd · Bristol Laboratories Ltd · Consilient Health Ltd · +21 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

Notified short 2 times on record since 2024. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: valios. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
12 Jul 2026
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-memantine-valios-5mg-orodispersible-tablets-sugar-free · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.