Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (16 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Methylphenidate

As of 06 Nov 2026 09:54 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2024/086 · issued 22 Aug 2024 (806 days ago)
Expected backOctober 2024 as stated in the latest recorded notice stated date passed — no update recorded (736 days)window end 31 Oct 2024, derived from “October 2024”
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2024)48 issued 23 Aug 2024 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2024/086 (22 Aug 2024): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Methylphenidate prolonged-release tablet brandsaffected product · inferred from phrasingLimited supply, as statedOctober 2024precision: a month · window end 31 Oct 2024, derived from “October 2024”notice of 22 Aug 2024
Lisdexamfetamine (Elvanse®, Elvanse Adult®) capsulesnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing · its own page →Stated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 22 Aug 2024
Methylphenidate (Equasym® XL) modified-release capsulesnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand— not stated for this linenotice of 22 Aug 2024

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Methylphenidate

Also known as
Methylphenidate 10mg modified-release capsules · Methylphenidate 10mg tablets · Methylphenidate 10mg/5ml oral solution · Methylphenidate 12.5mg/5ml oral solution · Methylphenidate 15mg/5ml oral solution · Methylphenidate 18mg modified-release tablets · +22 more
BNF chemical
Methylphenidate hydrochloride 0404000M0 — matched on a generic name
Class
CNS stimulants and drugs used for ADHD · Central Nervous System
SNOMED codes
11484211000001107, 12128511000001108, 12128811000001106, 12129311000001108, 12129611000001103 and 64 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Actavis UK Ltd · Consilient Health Ltd · DE Pharmaceuticals · Drug Tariff Special Order · Imported · +6 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

Notified short 3 times on record since 2022 — a recurring shortage spanning 2.2 years. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: xaggitin xl. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
18 Sep 2024
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-methylphenidate-prolonged-release-tablets · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.