Data may be out of date. Our scheduled checks are behind: the last successful check of the sources finished 20 Oct 2026, 21:00 UTC (16 days ago), more than 36 hours ago. Checks normally run twice daily, so figures on this page may be out of date. See the service status.
ShortageSignal

← All medicines

Medicine · bench card

Oxybutynin

As of 06 Nov 2026 13:32 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.

Latest England noticeMSN/2026/004 Tier 2 · issued 28 Jan 2026 (282 days ago)
Expected backlate-February 2026 as stated in the latest recorded notice stated date passed — no update recorded (251 days)window end 28 Feb 2026, derived from “late-February 2026”
Protocolno Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name on the NHSBSA register
ScotlandMSAN(2026)5 issued 30 Jan 2026 — NHS Scotland's own notice, matched by name; kept separate from England

Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice

Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2026/004 (28 Jan 2026): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.

PresentationStatus, as statedExpected back, as statedStated in
Oxybutynin (Kentera®) 3.9mg/24hours transdermal patchesaffected product · inferred from phrasingOut of stock, as statedlate-February 2026precision: late in the month · window end 28 Feb 2026, derived from “late-February 2026”notice of 28 Jan 2026
Oxybutynin 5mg and 10mg modified-release tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 28 Jan 2026
Oxybutynin 2.5mg/5ml and 5mg/5ml oral solution sugar freenamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 28 Jan 2026
Oxybutynin 2.5mg and 5mg tabletsnamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasingStated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand— not stated for this linenotice of 28 Jan 2026
Alternative anticholinergic/non-anticholinergic agents for urinary incontinenceclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasingStated as available— not stated for this linenotice of 28 Jan 2026

Protocol in force

No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.

Named in the source as remaining available

  • Oxybutynin 5mg and 10mg modified-release tablets — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Oxybutynin 2.5mg/5ml and 5mg/5ml oral solution sugar free — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
  • Oxybutynin 2.5mg and 5mg tablets — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)

Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.

Identifiers — Oxybutynin

Also known as
Cystrin 3mg tablets · Cystrin 5mg tablets · Ditropan 2.5mg tablets · Ditropan 2.5mg/5ml elixir · Ditropan 5mg tablets · Ditropan XL 10mg tablets · +19 more
BNF chemical
Oxybutynin 0704020J0 — matched on a generic name
Class
Drugs for urinary frequency enuresis and incontinence · Drugs for genito-urinary disorders · Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Urinary-Tract Disorders
SNOMED codes
10401611000001104, 10401911000001105, 109611000001107, 110511000001103, 12985711000001104 and 111 more
Suppliers named in the NHSBSA dataset
A A H Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Accord-UK Ltd · Actavis UK Ltd · Alliance Healthcare (Distribution) Ltd · Almus Pharmaceuticals Ltd · Approved Prescription Services Ltd · +27 more (from the dataset, not from the notices)

BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence 0.90 — grouping under review where marked Release Jul 2026.

BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.

History

Notified short 4 times on record since 2022 — a recurring shortage spanning 3.9 years. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.

IssuedNoticeKindTierReference
28 Jan 2026Medicine Supply Notification: Oxybutynin (Kentera® ) 3.9mg/24hours transdermal patchesSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2026/004
18 Dec 2023Medicine Supply Notification: Oxybutynin 5mg modified-release tabletsSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2023/116
24 Apr 2023Medicine Supply Notification: Oxybutynin 5mg modified-release tabletsSupply notificationTier 2MSN/2023/048
16 Mar 2022Medicine Supply Notification: Oxybutynin (Kentera®) 3.9mg/24hour transdermal patches.Supply notificationTier 2MSN/2022/027

Also recorded under

Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: kentera. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.

Scotland — separate record

NHS Scotland issues its own Medicine Supply Alert Notices. These match this medicine's name; they are shown beside, never added to, the England record.

Last checked
20 Oct 2026 — sources are checked twice daily by scheduled jobs, not continuously
Last source change
19 Oct 2026
Latest notice captured
12 Jul 2026
Sources
Latest notice post ↗https://cpe.org.uk/our-news/medicine-supply-notification-oxybutynin-kentera-3-9mg-24hours-transdermal-patches · methodology · corrections log

Re-expressed facts with links to the source documents; roles are inferred from phrasing and flagged; fuzzy dates stay fuzzy. Not an official NHS or DHSC service and not clinical advice — in a shortage, follow the guidance issued to your pharmacy or prescriber. Absence of a record is never availability.