As of 06 Nov 2026 13:32 UTC. Status is always as stated in the latest recorded notice; the sources do not publish resolution, so nothing on this page says a medicine is back — see methodology.
Presentations, as stated in the latest recorded notice
Each line is re-expressed from MSN/2024/029 (12 Mar 2024): the product named, the status the source stated, and the expected-back phrase kept as written. Not the source's sentence, and not an observation of stock.
| Presentation | Status, as stated | Expected back, as stated | Stated in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prochlorperazine (Stemetil®) 12.5mg/ml solution for injection ampoulesaffected product · inferred from phrasing | Out of stock, as stated | mid-April 2024precision: mid-month · window end 20 Apr 2024, derived from “mid-April 2024” | notice of 12 Mar 2024 |
| Due to ongoing supply issues with prochlorperazine buccal tablets, thesenamed by the source as remaining available · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available; cannot support an uplift in demand | — not stated for this line | notice of 12 Mar 2024 |
| Alternative anti-emeticsclass-level statement by the source, not a named product · inferred from phrasing | Stated as available | — not stated for this line | notice of 12 Mar 2024 |
Protocol in force
No Serious Shortage Protocol matched to this name is in force on the NHSBSA register. Matching is by name until identifier coding lands.
Named in the source as remaining available
- Due to ongoing supply issues with prochlorperazine buccal tablets, these — named by the source as remaining available (inferred from phrasing)
Only names the source itself listed, as it listed them (source post ↗). No substitution, dosing or counselling advice is given here or implied.
Identifiers — Prochlorperazine
Grouping under review The name on this page has not been matched to one BNF chemical with enough confidence to assert it; nothing here is grouped until a reviewer confirms it.
BNF chemical and SNOMED identifiers from NHSBSA Prescription Cost Analysis (Open Government Licence), matched by name (presentation name), confidence not asserted — grouping under review where marked
BNF SNOMED mapping, NHSBSA Copyright 2026; Prescription Cost Analysis (PCA) Monthly Administrative Data, NHSBSA Copyright 2026. This information is licenced under the terms of the Open Government Licence.
History
Notified short 4 times on record since 2022 — a recurring shortage spanning 1.4 years. We record when a shortage is declared, not when stock returns — the source doesn't publish that. An update sharing a reference counts as one episode.
| Issued | Notice | Kind | Tier | Reference |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 12 Mar 2024 | Medicine Supply Notification: Prochlorperazine (Stemetil®) 12.5mg/ml solution for injection ampoules | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2024/029 |
| 23 Dec 2022 | Medicine Supply Notification: Prochlorperazine (Stemetil®) 12.5mg/ml solution for injection ampoules | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2022/113 |
| 12 Oct 2022 | Medicine Supply Notification: Prochlorperazine (Stemetil®) 5mg/5ml Syrup | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2022/085 |
| 12 Oct 2022 | Medicine Supply Notification: Prochlorperazine (Stemetil®) 12.5mg/ml solution for injection ampoules | Supply notification | Tier 2 | MSN/2022/086 |
Also recorded under
Bracketed names seen in this medicine's notice titles: stemetil. Grouping is by the head name in each title; brand and generic names may still sit on separate pages until identifier coding refines it — see the A–Z.
Scotland — separate record
No NHS Scotland Medicine Supply Alert Notice on record matches this name. Scotland is a separate record (all Scotland alerts); absence here is not a statement about supply in Scotland.